HP FOLIO 9470M: USER REVIEW

by Nick Kiprotich

Monday, July 3, 2017

INTRODUCTION

For the past one year, I have been using the HP Folio 9470m Elitebook. Before buying it, I was using a DELL LATITUDE D830. A friend of mine had the EliteBook Folio. I admired its classy look, slimness, the performance, and its light weight. I was always borrowing my friend’s laptop to play games on it, mostly FIFA 16 since the game couldn’t play on mine. When I finally decided that enough was enough, I acquired it from a local store for $850. My friend had bought his from the same store. The keyboard of this Ultrabook has a backlight that makes it desirable for people like myself who enjoy working even through the dark.

hp folio          9470m folio

BATTERY LIFE AND CHARGING

The battery normally takes three hours to charge fully. When it is fully charged, the battery runs for about six hours without the need for a recharge. This is usually the case when I am doing lightweight tasks such as reading a PDF or typing a project. However, when I am playing computer games such as FIFA, the battery life lasts between three to four hours. Sometimes when the battery is not fully charged, and I need to play a computer game, I prefer to remove the battery and connect the computer directly to the power source. This way, I don’t get to strain the battery through long charging hours. The EliteBook Folio’s battery is not integrated and thus can be easily detached.

PERFORMANCE AND DESIGN

This device is so light that you can carry it inside a folder without someone noticing. It weighs 3.6 pounds, which is approximately the weight of two 500-pages textbooks. On top of that, the laptop is enviably slim with a thickness of less than half an inch. Unless running several programs simultaneously, the laptop rarely heats up meaning you will never be bothered by the noise made by the cooling fan. The keys of the keyboard are very sensitive yet precise with each stroke, unlike most keyboards that require more force to press the keys. Being a person who does a lot of typing, I value this characteristic so much. The touchpad as well is responsive and the buttons easy to click. The combination of aesthetic design and efficient performance on the HP Folio is fascinating, to say the least.

STRENGTH AND DURABILITY

Initially, I had my doubts on the strength of this device, based on the assumption that the sleek appearance meant fragility. I am glad I was wrong. The HP Folio 9470m is robust and enduring. Ever since I started using it, I have never taken it for repair, despite minor accidents. Not a single keyboard button has detached, neither has any feature stopped working correctly. Apart from a few scratches on the cover, the device looks new. Nonetheless, I ought to take some credit for taking good care of it. The computer has hardly undergone a major test on its physical strength. I will, therefore, have to wait before rating it as “very strong.”

BEST FEATURES

Performance

The EliteBook Folio has a 1.5 GHz, Intel core-i7 CPU, and a 4GB RAM. This perfectly suits my needs. Taking into consideration the internet speed, I stream live soccer on the Internet without lag. Furthermore, I sometimes run multiple tasks such as playing an audio or downloading some files in the background without noticing any delay. The 500 GB hard disk space allows me to store files and install multiple applications without worry. I have used just past half of that space. The HP Folio has an SSD-based hard drive. This further boosts the performance because it is a fast storage media.

Looking for a Writer? You can hire Nick Kiprotich at Writers Agency...

Multiple ports

The HP EliteBook Folio 9470m Ultrabook has four USB ports, an Ethernet port, a headset jack, and a VGA port. One of these USB ports is a power-share port. I charge my phone by connecting it to the laptop via a USB cable. In case you are wondering why I had to mention that, it is because the phone charges even when the laptop is off. When charging the phone, I can still connect two gamepads and have a port to spare. At times, I get bored using the touchpad, so I just plug in a mouse via the USB port. For a bigger display, I often connect my DELL monitor through the VGA port. I do not have cable internet, so I hardly use the Ethernet port to connect to the web. Nevertheless, the Ethernet port comes in handy whenever I need to transfer a large file from a friend’s computer.

WORST FEATURES

Display

The EliteBook Folio has a resolution of 1366*678 pixels. This is a low resolution for the hefty price tag. Though on most applications the display will look good, the challenge comes when I visit unresponsive websites. Since its screen is of limited height, I often find myself scrolling up and down to view the full height of images. The challenge is not limited to images only. Interacting with large excel files gives me an annoying scrolling task as well.

In certain environments, the EliteBook Folio suffers from the issue of low brightness. On normal conditions, the intensity is just sufficient for me. However, when using the laptop under extreme conditions such as outdoors during sunny days, I have to strain my eyes.

Still on the issue of display, viewing images or videos from the sides is almost impossible. The small size of the screen adds on to this limitation. Nevertheless, The EliteBook Folio can still accommodate a small group of people gathered behind the main user.

Location of the Speakers

Stereo speakers are located on the bottom side of the laptop. The result of this is that some sound is blocked by the surface onto which the laptop rests thus producing a low volume.

Graphics Card

The HP Folio uses the integrated Intel HD Graphics 4000. Although this card is sufficient for moderate gamers and PC user, a serious gamer will be disappointed by the lack of a replaceable graphics card. I have considered installing an external graphics card myself.

GENERAL REVIEW

I do not consider The EliteBook Folio cheap by any means, but this laptop is worth every cent. Its superb performance outweighs the limitations. My computer usage revolves around FIFA 16, Adobe Photoshop, MatLab and a few office applications, the likes of MS Word, Access and Excel. These heavyweight applications could not run on my previous laptop. The fact that these applications run on the EliteBook Folio without a hitch gives me no reason to murmur over the price tag. Moving files around from one drive partition to another partition or another PC takes a few minutes if not seconds. This is facilitated by the combination of a fast processor and a modern SSD hard drive.

I cannot fail to emphasize the value of its slim nature, sleek look, and light weight. Mine is Silver in color and closely resembles the MacBook Pro. I can carry less but still, do much. It is the kind of design that makes me proud when I carry the laptop around. The battery performance is only comparable to smartphones, taking a few hours to charge and lasting for several hours after charging.

This laptop is reliable and serves all my needs to satisfaction. Unless it breaks down, I have no plans of replacing it any soon.

OVERALL RATING: 7/10

 

 

 

 

by Nick Kiprotich

by Nick Kiprotich

Monday, July 3, 2017

I am a technology enthusiast with a special preference for telecommunications and programming. I am currently pursuing a Bachelor's degree in Electrical and Electronics engineering.

Read more at teckshow.com

Buy HP FOLIO 9470M & Accessories

Pwr+ UL Listed Charger for HP Probook EliteBook Revolve Business Laptop 250 255 350 355 430 440 450 455 612 630 635 640 645 650 655 745 810 820 840 850 1020 1040 G1 G2 G3 G4 G5 Folio 9470M 9480M ZBook HP Spare 402018-001 463958-001 609939-001 677770-002 677774-002 693711-001 693715-001 693715-001 710412-001 740015-001 741727-001 744893-001 ED494AA ED495AA PA-1650-02HC PA-1900-18H2 PPP009C PPP009L PPP012H-S PPP012L-E

Monday, July 3, 2017

by PWR+
Compatibility: This product has been tested and validated to ensure it will work with MOST HP laptops (NOT U S B-C) HP Notebook 15, 17 HP Chromebook 11 14 G1 G3 G4 HP Stream 11 13 14 PRO G2, HP Spectre x360 13 13T, Split x2, 612 G1, 410 G1, Elite X2 1011 G1, x360 310 G2, ZBook 14 HP Envy, Pavilion x2, x360, TouchSmart, 10 11 13 14 15 17, M4 M6 M7, 11T 15T 17T 15Z 17Z, Spectre XT, Sleekbook HP Pavilion DM1 DM1Z DM3 DM4 DV2 DV3 DV4 DV5 DV6 DV6T DV6Z DV7 DV7T G4 G6 G6T G7 DV1000 DV2000 DV2500 DV2700 DV4000 DV5000 DV6000 DV6500 DV6700 DV8000 DV9000 DV9500 DV9700 TX1000 TX2000 TX2500 ZE2000 ZE4900 HP ProBook, Elitebook, Folio 210, 250 G1, 250 G2, 250 G3, 250 G4, 250 G5, 255 G1, 255 G2, 255 G3, 255 G3, 255 G4, 255 G5, 340, 350 G2, 350 G2, 355 G2, 430 G1, 430 G2, 430 G3, 440 G1, 440 G2, 440 G3, 450 G1, 450 G2, 450 G3, 455 G1, 455 G2, 455 G3, 630, 635, 640 G1, 640 G2, 645, 650 G1, 650 G2, 655, 720, 725 G2, 725 G3, 740, 745 G2, 745 G3, 750, 755, 810 G1, 810 G2, 810 G3, 820 G1, 820 G2, 820 G3, 840 G1, 840 G2, 840 G3, 850 G1, 850 G2, 850 G3, 1020 G1, 1040 G1, 1040 G2 2170P 2530P 2540P 2560P 2570P 2730P 2740P 2760P 4320S 4420S 4430S 4440S 4510S 4520S 4525S 4530S 4535S 4540S 4545S 4720S 4730S 5330M 6360B 6440B 6450B 6455B 6460B 6465B 6470B 6475B 6550B 6555B 6560B 6565B 6570B 6930P 8440P 8440W 8460P 8460W 8470P 8470W 8560P 8570P 9470M 9480M HP 2000 2000T 2000Z 3105M 3115M 3125 G42 G50 G56 G60 G61 G62 G70 G71 G72 HDX16 TM2 HP Compaq 610 2510P 2710P 6510 6510B 6515B 6530B 6710B 6715B 6720S 6720T 6730B 6730S 6735B 6735S 6830S 6910P 8510P 8510W NC6320 NC6320 NC6400 NC8430 NW8440 NX6310 NX6325 NX7400 TC4400 HP Mini 311 2133 2140 5101 5102 5103 Compaq Presario CQ40 CQ43 CQ50 CQ56 CQ57 CQ58 CQ60 CQ61 CQ62 CQ70 402018-001 417220-001 463955-001 463958-001 609939-001 693711-001 741727-001 740015-001 740015-002 845836-850 PPP009C PPP009H PPP009L PPP012D-S TPN-LA03 HSTNN-CA40

$19.99 on Amazon.com

CAR CHARGER 90W 65W for HP Pavilion G4 G6 G7 M6; EliteBook 2540p 2570p 2730p 6930p 8440p 8460p 8540w Revolve 810, 820-G1, 820-G2, 840-G1, 840-G2, 850-G1, 850-G2 Folio 9470m; HP G42 G56 G60 G61 G62 G71 G72; Probook 250-G1, 430-G1, 430-G2, 440-G1, 440-G2, 450-G1, 450-G2, 455-G1, 455-G2; 640-G1, 645-G1, 650-G1, 655-G1 ; Essential 3115M 655 650 ; HP Mini 5103 2133 2140 DC Auto Adapter Power Cord EXTRA LONG 10 Ft : !!! Check Connector Photo !!!

Monday, July 3, 2017

by PWR+
Pwr+ Car Charger Description * Rapid 4.74 Amp Charger * Overheating Protection with Smart Chip * Overload Protection with High Quality Wires * Anti-Interference Feature with better Isolation Materials * High quality, rubberized texture AC/DC Cord Related Products (copy and paste code into Amazon search) HP AC Adapter: B003VVXUS4 HP Slim AC Adapter: B0043S10OK Compatibility: This product has been tested and validated to ensure it will work with HP Pavilion DV3 DV4 DV5 DV6 DV7 DM4 DM4x G4 G6 G6x G7 G7t M6: G6-2228DX G7-2215DX G7-2240US G7-2243US G7-2246NR G7-2251DX G7-2275DX G7-2320DX M6-1035DX M6-1045DX HP G42 G50 G60 G60t G61 G62 G70 G71 G72: G60-230US G60-235DX G62-340US G60-519WM G71-329WM G71-340US G71-449WM G72-252US Compaq Presario CQ40 CQ45 CQ50 CQ60 CQ61 CQ62 CQ70 CQ71 CQ72 HP Elitebook 2170p 2540p 2560p 2570p 2760p 6930p 8440p 8460p 8470p 8540p 8540w 8560p 8570p HP Elitebook Folio 9470m HP Elitebook Revolve 810-G1 810-G2 810-G3 HP Probook 430-G1, 430-G2, 440-G1, 440-G2, 450-G1, 450-G2, 455-G1, 640-G1, 650-G1 HP EliteBook 745-G2, 820-G1, 820-G2, 840-G1, 840-G2, 850-G1, 850-G2 HP 2000 !!! Please Check Connector Photo !!!

$19.99 on Amazon.com

CAR CHARGER 90W 65W for HP Pavilion G4 G6 G7 M6; EliteBook 2540p 2570p 2730p 6930p 8440p 8460p Revolve 810, 820-G1, 820-G2, 840-G1, 840-G2, 850-G1, 850-G2 Folio 9470m; HP G42 G56 G60 G61 G62 G71 G72 250; Probook 250-G1, 430-G1, 430-G2, 440-G1, 440-G2, 450-G1, 450-G2, 455-G1, 455-G2; 640-G1, 645-G1, 650-G1, 655-G1 DC Auto Adapter Power Cord EXTRA LONG 10 Ft : !!! Check Connector Photo !!!

Monday, July 3, 2017

by PWR+
PWR+: Powering Millions of Laptops, Tablets and Electronic Gadgets and a go-to brand for premium replacement chargers and accessories since 2007. Pwr+ chargers manufactured with the highest quality materials and include multiple smart features safeguarding against IV - incorrect voltage, SC - short circuit, IO - internal overheating . CE/FCC/RoHS certified AC Adapter Description * Rapid 3.5 Amp Charger * Overheating Protection with Smart Chip * Overload Protection with High Quality Wires * Anti-Interference Feature with better Isolation Materials * High quality, rubberized texture extra long 14 Ft AC/DC Cord Compatibility: This product has been tested and validated to ensure it will work with HP laptops: HP ProBook 430-G1, 430-G2, 440-G1, 440-G2, 450-G1, 450-G2, 455-G1, 455-G2, 640-G1, 645-G1, 650-G1 HP Pavilion G4 G6 G6t G7 M6: DV6-7010US G4-2235DX G4-2275DX G4-2320DX G6-1D21DX G6-1D80NR G6-2210US G6-2213NR G6-2228DX G6-2231DX G6-2235US G6-2238DX G6-2239DX G6-2270DX G6-2278DX G6-2320DX G6-2321DX G6-2330DX G6-2342DX G6T-2000 G6Z-2200 G7-1310US G7-1327DX G7-1330DX G7-1350DX G7-2022US G7-2215DX G7-2233CL G7-2235DX G7-2238NR G7-2240US G7-2243US G7-2246NR G7-2251DX G7-2269WM G7-2270US G7-2275DX G7-2320DX G7-2323DX G7-2325DX G7-2340DX G7-2341DX M6-1035DX M6-1045DX HP EliteBook Folio 9470m 9480m HP EliteBook Revolve 810 G2, 810 G3 HP ZBook 15u G2, 14 G2 HP EliteBook 2170p 2530p 2540p 2560p 2570p 2730p 2740p 2760p 6930p 8440p 8460p 8460w HP G42 G50 G56 G60 G61 G62 G70 G71 G72 3125 P/N: 374791-001 384019-001 384019-002 384021-001 391172-001 391172001 391173-001 463552-001 463552-002 463955-001 463958-001 677774-002 693710-001 693711-001 693716-001 696694-001 724264-001 744893-001 751889-001 ED494AA ED495AA PA-1650-02HC PA-1900-18H2 PPP009L TPC-CA58

$19.99 on Amazon.com

Pwr UL Listed 65W Charger for HP Pavilion x360 Spectre X360 15 X2 Envy 360 13t Stream 11 13 14 Elitebook Folio 1040 G1 G2 G3 Split 13 Touchsmart 15 13 M6 HP 719309-003 721092-001 741727-001 740015-001

Monday, July 3, 2017

by PWR+
Compatibility: This product has been tested and validated to ensure it will work with MOST HP laptops (NOT U S B-C) HP Notebook 15, 17 HP Chromebook 11 14 G1 G3 G4 HP Stream 11 13 14 PRO G2, HP Spectre x360 13 13T, Split x2, 612 G1, 410 G1, Elite X2 1011 G1, x360 310 G2, ZBook 14 HP Envy, Pavilion x2, x360, TouchSmart, 10 11 13 14 15 17, M4 M6 M7, 11T 15T 17T 15Z 17Z, Spectre XT, Sleekbook HP Pavilion DM1 DM1Z DM3 DM4 DV2 DV3 DV4 DV5 DV6 DV6T DV6Z DV7 DV7T G4 G6 G6T G7 DV1000 DV2000 DV2500 DV2700 DV4000 DV5000 DV6000 DV6500 DV6700 DV8000 DV9000 DV9500 DV9700 TX1000 TX2000 TX2500 ZE2000 ZE4900 HP ProBook, Elitebook, Folio 210, 250 G1, 250 G2, 250 G3, 250 G4, 250 G5, 255 G1, 255 G2, 255 G3, 255 G3, 255 G4, 255 G5, 340, 350 G2, 350 G2, 355 G2, 430 G1, 430 G2, 430 G3, 440 G1, 440 G2, 440 G3, 450 G1, 450 G2, 450 G3, 455 G1, 455 G2, 455 G3, 630, 635, 640 G1, 640 G2, 645, 650 G1, 650 G2, 655, 720, 725 G2, 725 G3, 740, 745 G2, 745 G3, 750, 755, 810 G1, 810 G2, 810 G3, 820 G1, 820 G2, 820 G3, 840 G1, 840 G2, 840 G3, 850 G1, 850 G2, 850 G3, 1020 G1, 1040 G1, 1040 G2 2170P 2530P 2540P 2560P 2570P 2730P 2740P 2760P 4320S 4420S 4430S 4440S 4510S 4520S 4525S 4530S 4535S 4540S 4545S 4720S 4730S 5330M 6360B 6440B 6450B 6455B 6460B 6465B 6470B 6475B 6550B 6555B 6560B 6565B 6570B 6930P 8440P 8440W 8460P 8460W 8470P 8470W 8560P 8570P 9470M 9480M HP 2000 2000T 2000Z 3105M 3115M 3125 G42 G50 G56 G60 G61 G62 G70 G71 G72 HDX16 TM2 HP Compaq 610 2510P 2710P 6510 6510B 6515B 6530B 6710B 6715B 6720S 6720T 6730B 6730S 6735B 6735S 6830S 6910P 8510P 8510W NC6320 NC6320 NC6400 NC8430 NW8440 NX6310 NX6325 NX7400 TC4400 HP Mini 311 2133 2140 5101 5102 5103 Compaq Presario CQ40 CQ43 CQ50 CQ56 CQ57 CQ58 CQ60 CQ61 CQ62 CQ70 402018-001 417220-001 463955-001 463958-001 609939-001 693711-001 741727-001 740015-001 740015-002 845836-850 PPP009C PPP009H PPP009L PPP012D-S TPN-LA03 HSTNN-CA40

$19.99 on Amazon.com

Krisdonia 50000mAh Laptop Power Bank 5/8.4/9/12/16/20V Portable Chager with Type-C for Macbook, Dell, HP, Lenovo, Acer and Other Laptops

Monday, July 3, 2017

by Krisdonia
Product Specification: Battery capacity: 50000mAh Battery type: li-polymer battery DC Input: 19V/2A TYPE-C Output: 5V/9V/12V 3A (max) 2 USB Output: 5V/9V/12V 3A (max) DC Output: 5V/8.4V/9V/12V 3A (max) 16V(16.5V)/20V(19V, 19.5V) 4.7A (max) Compatibillty: MacBook, MacBook pro, notebooks, digital camera, Projector,psp, wireless router, tablet PCs, cell phones, etc. Instruction for Use: When charging laptop with DC-OUT port, first, press the power button for two seconds to turn on, then double click the button to adjust the voltage to your laptop's voltage and it can start charging. When charging devices with Type-C or USB1/2, you don't need to adjust the voltage; press two seconds to turn on the power bank and connect your devices with it directly. 28 Laptop Connectors: 1.4.8*1.7mm for HP,Compaq,Datle 2.5.0*1.1mm for Samsung 3.5.5*1.7mm for Acer 4.5.5*2.1mm for Acer,SONY 5.5.5*2.1mm for Benq,Acer,Toshiba,Compaq,NEC,IBM,HP 6.5.5*2.5mm for Datle,Fljitsu,Liteonit,Dell,IBM,HP,ASUS,Compaq 7.6.3*3.0mm for Toshiba,Acer,NEC 8.6.4*4.4mm for SONY,Fljitsu,Samsung 9.3 pin for Dell 10.4 pin for Toshiba 11.7.4*5.0mm for HP,DELL 12.4.5*3.0mm for HP,ASUS ZenBook UX501(19.5V 6.32A) For Folio 9470m C8K20PA 13.7.4*5.0 for Dell 14.7.9*5.5mm for Lenove, IBM, Thinkpad 15.2.0*0.5mm for Nokia 16.for Levono Thinkpad Ultrabook X230S/S3/S5/X1/E431...Yoga 11s/Yoga 13 17.2.5*0.7mm for the most of the tablet pcs 18.4.0*1.35mm for ASUS 19.4.5*3.0mm for Dell 20.3.0*1.0mm Acer S5, S7, W700, X313, M3 21.3.5*1.35mm for Dell, Sharp 22.4.0*1.7mm for Asus, Benq, Acer, Sony 23.4.8*1.7mm for HP, ASUS, NEC, Datle, Compaq. 24.5.0*2.1mm 25.5.5*1.5mm 26.5.5*2.5mm 27.5.5*2.5mm for Lenovo 28.5.5*2.5mm Click "Add to Cart" above to get your portable charger today!

$135.99 on Amazon.com

StarTech.com DisplayPort to VGA Adapter with Audio - DP to VGA Converter - 1920x1200

Monday, July 3, 2017

by StarTech
Connect your PC to a VGA display with discrete 3.5mm audio output - This unique DisplayPort to VGA adapter is equipped with a built-in audio port which lets you connect DisplayPort equipped devices, such as an HP Elite Book Folio 9470m laptop, to a VGA display or projector with audio. Because most boardrooms are set up differently, the length of cables available in each room varies. Not all laptops have the DisplayPort (DP) and audio ports positioned on the same side, which can become awkward when you're trying to deliver your presentations. It can also mean that some ports may be just out of reach during a meeting. This convenient adapter positions your audio and video ports on the same side of your laptop, to ensure that all of the ports are accessible. If the audio port on your mobile device is damaged or blocked by other connections, this convenient adapter guarantees that you'll always have all of the ports you need for every presentation. By connecting audio to your laptop through the adapter, you can be prepared for any situation. In order to use the audio function of the adapter you need to power the adapter through a USB port on your laptop, or through a charge port on a USB grommet. Simply plug a Micro USB cable from the adapter into the USB port and audio will be available when you deliver your presentation. The adapter can also be used for connecting your laptop or desktop computer to your monitor and speakers. The adapter and connected cables can be placed nicely at the back of your monitor to create a tidy setup between all of your devices. This DP to VGA adapter is extremely portable with a lightweight, small-footprint design. It's the perfect accessory to carry with your mobile devices, fitting easily into your laptop bag or carrying case. Its ultra-portable design makes the adapter ideal for BYOD (Bring Your Own Device) applications at the office. The DP2VGAA is backed by a 2-year StarTech.com warranty and free lifetime technical support.

$17.40 on Amazon.com

Tech WTF is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.