Huawei P10: Product review

by Robert Dolmans

Thursday, June 29, 2017

Introduction

Since april 2017 I am the proud owner of the Huawei P10 Smartphone. In this review I will take you with me in my experiences with this awesome device. I hope to convince you of the great quality Haulier delivered with the P10! The stylish design, the double camera from Leica which delivers high quality, excellent hardware and the Kirin 90-chip to deliver even better performances. The P10 has it all!

I choose the P10 over the newest model of Sony (I had two Sony devices before the P10, and I was very satisfied with the quality). The salesperson at my provider convinced me to switch to the newest Huawei. How did he do it? He compared the newest android phones (I do not want to switch from android to IPhone, too much hassle) and from my preferences (good quality camera, nice design) he promoted the P10 above the others.  He showed me the quality and the design, and he delivered the hype of the smartphone over to me.

Battery life & Charging

The battery life is amazing. I am a busy guy during the week as a recruiter and I am on the road a lot. Starting at 7:00 AM, I use my Deezer everyday for 2-4 hours, my apps for traffic control and I check social media during the day until I go to bed around 11:00 PM without charging and with still 15% battery left! And that is without even using the battery savings mode and using it the whole day! 10/10 when it comes to battery life.

Charging goes lightning fast.  Within 1,5 hours my phone is fully charged again, even if I use it during the charging time.

Score 10/10

Performance & Design

Speaking of performance, the Huawei P10 is solid. It runs applications fast. The battery as stated before has a long duration. The screen is bright enough to read from it in the sun and the camera is fast and perfect quality.

The design is on point in my opinion. It might not be very new design wise but  it looks proper. My partner sometimes confuses it for her new IPhone 7, and she is a big apple freak! So are you an IPhone fan but used to using the Android system? You know which phone to get. Even she loves the amazing camera and the overall quality of the Huawei P10. The fingerprint design is a finishing touch to the Huawei P10, an easy way to unlock your phone. There is also an unlock button on the right side of the phone. Above that button there are 2 buttons for your volume. Only thing I dislike is the plug in for the AUX cable / headphones, it is underneath the fingerprint button. I am used of having this output on top of my phone. The good thing is that they use the standard output, not like its competitors, so you can still use the headphones you are used to use.

For the specifications check out the official website here.

Score 9/10

Strength & Durability

The Huawei P10 has a strong screen and even if it falls on its back it does not get a single scratch. The adding of a phone cover and screen are fairly cheap (just check Ali express) to ensure your phone’s strength even more. The only thing it is missing? The phone is not waterproof. That is a big miss for the Huawei P10. Coming from a Sony device I was used of using my phone for pictures under water or enjoying my streaming in a bathtub . Do to the missing of this feature the phone does not go to the next level.

Durability wise this phone is the best I ever had, except for one thing.  The battery life is long, the camera is of perfect quality and the phone is strong as an ox. Just the non waterproof part lacks the perfectness for this device.

Score 7.5/10

+ Best features

The best features of this device are:

  1. The camera’s. Man how do I love these camera’s! Even got my partner so jealous that she takes my phone for pictures while we are travelling. The easy menu, the sharp quality and the options make it this device godly for picture taking people. Also the unique way of making selfies with the selfie cam is a big plus. Snap away with the Huawei P10!
  2. The battery life. It is amazing how long I can use this phone without charging it. The durability on this phone is definitely one of its best features.
  3. Charging. And if the time comes that I do need to charge the phone, it goes lightning fast. The phone can be full in an hour.
  4. Fast. This device runs smoothly. It has a fast processor and is user friendly.
  5. Standard 64 GB storage. Yes, you heard it.
  6. Price. The price is lower that its competitors, and the quality is just as good if not better!
  7. Fingerprint scanner. Makes life so much easier.
  8. App Twin. Use 2 Facebook or Whats App accounts simultaneously!
  9. Huawei Share. I love to share my Instagram pictures with this app, it is perfect to work with collages or to edit your picture before uploading!

– Worst features

There are some features I dislike of course:

  1. Not waterproof. This is really the biggest miss for the Huawei P10. If this phone was waterproof it would have been a top 2 phone in the market today hands down. Let us hope that the device after the P10 will have this option, just for future users sake.
  2. Nothing breathtaking new. Innovative wise the Huawei P10 is not groundbreaking. But hey, it is an all round amazing phone nonetheless.
  3. No Google assistant. I miss this buddy while on the road.

Testing the Huawei P10 camera in a park in Germany.

Overall review

The Huawei P10 comes in different colors and is one hell of a smartphone. The device might not be waterproof but it sure makes up for it in other specs that it comes with, especially for its price! The huge storage, fast running processor, easy usage and amazing camera make it a must have for new phone pickers who look for a solid smartphone and who love to make pictures with their phone. You will never need to use filters on Instagram again!

If we take the points given to the different sections in this article the overall rating is a solid 8,8/10.

I am very satisfied with this device, so do not hesitate if you are looking for a reliable new smartphone. The Huawei P10 is perfect for you!

To read more about the device, take a look at the official Huawei P10 page here.

by Robert Dolmans

by Robert Dolmans

Thursday, June 29, 2017

My name is Robert Dolmans, I am born and raised in the Netherlands, but currently living just across the border in Aachen, Germany. I have also lived in Cape Town for a few months while doing an internship abroad, something that got me even more addicted to travel. I have seen 30+ countries in the world across 4 continents. My goal is to learn as much as I can from travel and enjoy while doing it. Now, accompanied by my awesome wife to be who is just as travel addicted as I am, we see parts of the world (20+ together so far) whenever we can while both studying (me MSc, she PhD) and working full time as a Recruitment Consultant in Engineering. Feel free to follow my footsteps on uncensoredtravel.net.

Read more at uncensoredtravel.net

Buy Huawei P10 & Accessories

Huawei P10 Lite 32GB WAS-LX3 Octa Core 3GB RAM LTE International Version (Blue)

Thursday, June 29, 2017

by Huawei
Brand New Factory Unlocked for any GSM carrier worldwide. Phone comes sealed in original retail box with all original accessories. • Cellular Network Supported: 4FDD LTE: Band 2/4/5/7/28 UMTS (WCDMA) / HSPA+ / DC-HSDPA: Band 1/2/4/5/8 GSM / EDGE: 850/900/1800/1900 MHz Secondary SIM card: GSM: 850/900/1800/1900 MHz • Display: 5.2 inch FHD LCD screen • Processor: Kirin 658, 16nm Octa-core (4 × 2.1GHz + 4 x 1.7GHz) + i5 co-processor • Memory: 3GB RAM + 32GB ROM Supports Micro SD up to 256GB • Operating System: Android 7.0 Nougat • Camera: Rear: Rear: 12MP, 1/2.8 inch sensor and 1.25 µm single pixel Front: 8MP Inspired by the natural beauty of water, the 2.5D double-sided curved glass, diamond-cut metal frame and clean design make HUAWEI P10 lite a pleasure to hold and behold. New 3000 mAh (TYP) battery charges faster and lasts longer. A 10-minute charge powers 2 hours of video watching, meaning the fun never stops. Certified by 11 global organizations, the 5-level safety design and fast charge technology gives you the confidence and power to move as fast as you want to. Kirin 658 processor reduces power consumption, boosts performance and creates an engaging user experience. The sate-of-the-art EMUI user interface is not only faster, it's beautiful and simple to navigate. And the fingerprint sensor unlocks HUAWEI P10 lite in 0.3 seconds to keep pace with the speed of your life. For the first time ever, HUAWEI's proprietary Knuckle Sense Technology is featured in a lite series. Create shortcuts like tapping and drawing on the screen to capture screenshots and screen recording, so movies and clips can be shared more easily. The 8MP front camera's new portrait mode with facial recognition technology automatically creates aesthetic photos with natural bokeh that are beautiful and easy to capture. A powerful 12MP rear camera and larger 1.25μm pixel sensor adds a professional-grade camera inside HUAWEI P10 lite.

$209.99 on Amazon.com

[2 Pack] Huawei P10 Screen Protector, TIYA HD 9H Hardness 2.5D Arc Edge Anti Fingerprint Bubble Free Premium Tempered Glass Screen Protector for Huawei P10(Tempered Glass, Huawei P10)

Thursday, June 29, 2017

by TiYa
Notice TIYA Huawei P10 screen protector doesn't cover the full screen because of the curved edge of Huawei P10,it will have white edge and bubble on the edge if cover the full screen.So please notice that we screen protector can not cover the entire screen when you purchase.On the other hand,we screen protector will be perfect for your Huawei P10. Brand:TIYA   Name:TIYA P10 case 9H Hardness 9H hardness body with hard coating treatment on the surface prevents scratches, wearing, chipping and cracking, way more durable than normal screen protectors. 100% Clarity TIYA Defense is designed to work flawlessly with the enhanced optics of your device's screen. Its 100% clarity rating means screen protection that's so clear, you won't even know it's there. So enjoy crisp, clear images in vibrant ultra HD clarity like they were meant to be seen. Smooth and Bubble Free Application Applying screen protection shouldn't take an advanced degree, so we've made the process worry free. The application process is smooth, seamless, and accurate - every time. Oleophobic Coating Unlike any other screen protector out there, TIYA glass is treated with a specially engineered oleophobic nano-coating to ensure that fingerprints and residue wipe off with ease. This coating is applied using a unique electric infusion process, and will not degrade for up to two years of everyday use. Product Warranty and Return Policy We will work with you resolve any problems you may have. If we cannot fix the problem or you are still unhappy with the product or its performance, you can return your TIYA products for a complete refund after purchase. Package 2x screen protector 2x alcohol prep pad 2x dust-absorber 1x Free Phone Case 1x Imitation carbon fiber back the protectors film

$7.80 on Amazon.com

Huawei P10 Plus VKY-L29 6GB RAM / 128GB ROM 5.5-Inch 4G LTE Dual SIM FACTORY UNLOCKED - International Stock No Warranty (BLUE)

Thursday, June 29, 2017

by Huawei
REDEFINE MODERN PORTRAITURE Change the way the world sees you, through the lens of the HUAWEI P10 Plus. Redefine modern portraiture. COLOUR ¡P STYLE ¡P INNOVATION HUAWEI P10 Plus sets an industry benchmark for style and craftsmanship with the first hyper diamond-cut finishing on a smartphone, which adds strength and colour. Finishes also available in high gloss and sandblast. ARTISTIC PORTRAIT IN LEICA IMAGE STYLE Put a portrait studio in your pocket. The new Leica Dual Camera 2.0 Pro Edition uses precise 3D facial detection, dynamic illumination, and natural portrait enhancements to produce stunning artistic portrait shots in Leica image style. BEST-EVER SELF PORTRAITS: LEICA FRONT CAMERA An all new Leica front camera captures 2x more light, offering amazing self portraits, whether day or night. HUAWEI P10 Plus even senses groufies and automatically switches to wide-angle shots when more people enter the picture. Capture unique selfies in Leica image style. ENGINEERING MARVEL: LEICA DUAL CAMERA 2.0 PRO EDITION HUAWEI P10 Plus¡¦s Leica Dual Camera 2.0 Pro Edition carries two SUMMILUX-H lenses with a larger aperture (f/1.8). The result: 4K shooting, 20MP+12MP sensors, Optical Image Stabilisation, Superior low-light photography. When you see the world more clearly, you see how beautiful it is. THE SPEED OF LIFE Machine learning and the ultra-fast Kirin 960 processor keep HUAWEI P10 Plus¡¦s performance at the peak of its game. Coupled with HUAWEI Ultra Memory technology that intelligently allocates, recycles, and compresses memory, the apps you love load faster than ever. LTE B1 / B2 / B3 / B4 / B5 / B7 / B8 / B9 / B12 / B17 / B18 / B19 / B20 / B26 / B28 / B29 / B38 / B39 / B40 / B41 *****Please check with your carrier for compatibility. We are not responsible for any incompatible issues.

$499.99 on Amazon.com

Huawei P10 Plus Tempered Glass Screen Protector - Crystal Clear Toughened Glass Screen Protector with - CitiGeeks Retail Package

Thursday, June 29, 2017

by CitiGeeks
Best Quality Screen Protector by CitiGeeks We have compared more than 30 manufactures and found the product with outstanding quality, best performance, high durability, which is still easy on your wallet. We use only highest quality tempered glass material with outstanding clarity and package the content in Canada. If you are not satisfied with your purchase for any reason, please return the product anytime for a full refund. Guaranteed! Original product sold by CitiGeeks only. Glass Protector by CitiGeeks CitiGeeks Glass screen protectors are made of tampered glass material with highest transparency compared to other types of screen protector material. Virtually invisible when applied it will not interfere with touch functions of your device. It feels and looks identical to the original screen and your fingers glide easily across the screen when swiping. Oleophobic coating resists fingerprints and smudges. Installation kit with the link to short video tutorial makes installation a breeze. Best image quality and protection your device can have! Package Content - HD Tempered Glass screen protector - High-quality Microfiber cleaning cloth - Tape to remove dust from screen before installation - Alcohol swab for pre-cleaning and removing the grease - Installation instructions with a link to step-by-step video tutorial for easy installation Lifetime Warranty Your satisfaction is our priority. We will send you replacements free of charge if you experience issues with: - Premature wear and tear - Shattered screen protectors - Installation (bubbles or dust). Link to short video tutorial included with the package.

$11.99 on Amazon.com

Tech WTF is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.