iPhone 4 in 2017: User Review

by MartonB

Wednesday, February 15, 2017

In June 2010, the iPhone 4 was introduced by Steve Jobs as “the biggest leap since the original iPhone”. It was indeed a big leap, with 600,000 pre-orders in the first 24 hours, the iPhone 4 was a serious factor on the smartphone market in the years following its release. But what can this phone offer a user more than 6 years after it has been launched? This question was intriguing me when I’ve ordered a used iPhone 4 on eBay.
This happened back in May 2016. I needed a stable smartphone for basic online communication after my Samsung Galaxy S4 gave up when I accidentally spilled some water on it. I was on a budget of about 85 dollars. I was surprised and happy when eBay offered me the iPhone 4 for such a price; I loved the design of that phone since its original release. So I clicked on “Buy Now”, and I use that phone since then.

But what can it do today?

Battery life & charging

First of all, a major problem with this model can be the charging cable: the iPhone 4 still uses the broad 30-pin dock connector. Most users don’t like to use a bunch of different cables for every portable device they have, and nor do I: it’s a bit annoying to switch back and forth between the lightning and the big old cable everytime I want to charge my Ipad air after my iPhone.
The battery life is sufficient for me: with a very moderate usage (just phone calls, email checks and a bit of iMessage and facebook messenger), the battery can last up to three days without charging. On the days when I use my phone for more battery-draining tasks -for example tracking a 90 minutes long run with Endomondo or listening to music with a Bluetooth speaker- it still lasts one day, but overnight charging is inevitable.

iphone_4_563102 rsz_iphone-smartphone-phone-mobile-phone-48777

Design

Now design is everything when it comes to this phone. When introducing the new iPhone 4, Steve Jobs covered eight important features of the phone. Guess what he said first? “An all-new design”. And truly; the stainless steel and the aluminosilicate glass are beautiful materials, the shape is minimalistic and gorgeous. Even in 2017, the iPhone 4 is a smartphone which feels elegant to use. It really is a piece of art in my opinion. The size is just comfortable in my hands, but for those who like big screens, maybe watching videos on their phone, the 3.5-inch screen of iPhone 4 probably isn’t going to be big enough.

Durability

As I said before, the glass and the steel are cool. And these materials don’t just look great together: they are firmly put together to create a durable piece of technology. Of course, a phone covered mainly with glass can be a bit creepy for those who often drop their phone, or just tend to put it in the same pocket where their keys are. My solutions: transparent silicone case, crystal screen protector, and never dropping the iPhone. Apart from the last one, these can be bought for less than 7 dollars in Hungary.

Performance

It is slow. I basically have a routine of looking up from my iPhone for 3-4 seconds after launching an app, because I know it needs that amount of time to load. Apps run at a basically normal speed, little slower than a brand-new phone, but starting new apps takes time. What it never does, is freezing. I really like how a 6-year old used phone can still function without ever doing that. Android phones could learn from that!

Best Features

What is amazing about this phone is the price they are selling it for. When I have bought my iPhone 4 in May 2016, I have paid 66 dollars for my 32GB factory unlocked model, which had a “good condition” quality rating on Ebay. (The shipping from Hong Kong was free.) And honestly, when it arrived, it would have been hard to tell if it was ever used before. Other than the price of it, the design -as I said- is beautiful, simple, and for somebody like me who likes smaller phones, it’s perfect. For me, the stability of this phone is also a great merit, and the battery time is quite good too if you mainly use it for basic tasks.

Worst Features

Now comes the bad part. Apart from the already mentioned slowness of the iPhone 4, the biggest problem for me is the software. In 2014, Apple discontinued support for iPhone 4 in iOS 8. So my device can be upgraded to iOS 7.1.2, and that’s it, nothing above that. For me, and I think for every user, the biggest downside of this restriction is that several apps cannot be used on iOS versions before iOS 8, and there are some apps that only enable to download earlier versions, which are compatible with iOS 7. For me, the lack of Apple Music and Siri is a really big handicap. Not being able to synchronize the songs which I listen to on my iPad to my iPhone is really annoying. About Siri: the iOS 7 has a so-called Voice Control function, which at first sight looks like a blue-background version of Siri, but sadly, its voice recognition is not very powerful, and it can only do a couple of things if it gets what you are trying to say to it.
Another problem is the camera. The iPhone 4 has a 5-megapixel camera with a LED flash, and it has been the first iPhone to ever have a front-facing camera. But despite its historical merits, the photo taking abilities of this phone are as crappy as it can get. In daylight, I can take acceptable photos, but after sunset it’s terrible, and the flashlight doesn’t help at all. I think I never used that flashlight apart from the torch function, which is handy, but my nighttime photos are still unrecognizable.

 

Overall

I think buying used iPhone 4 models can be the perfect low-budget solution for anyone who wants to have an elegant smartphone from quality materials. It is also a great choice if you are a fan of smaller devices, which fit in your palm and your pockets really comfortably. I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone who needs a big screen or wants to use anything not supported below iOS version 8. Also, this device is not the one for capturing high-quality photos.

iphone4ebay

For me, apart from missing Apple Music and Siri, it’s a real bargain. When this phone was launched, I was in high school and I couldn’t afford to have the iPhone 4. One of my wealthier classmates did have it, and I remember when I got to try it out, it felt so elegant and futuristic. Six years after those days in school, it still does.

Read more about the Apple iPhone SE on Apple’s website

Overall Rating: 8/10

by MartonB

by MartonB

Wednesday, February 15, 2017

My name is Márton, and I am a linguist, phonetician and a self-taught web developer from Hungary. I love to explore new things. Exploring how the language works is my profession, exploring technology is my passion. So let's explore together!

Read more at track2tech.com

Buy iPhone 4 in 2017 & Accessories

Mpow 051BB Car Phone Mount, CD Slot Car Phone Holder, Car Mount with Three-Side Grips and One-Touch Design Compatible iPhone XS MAX/XR/XS/X/8/8Plus/7/7Plus/6s, Galaxy S5/S6/S7/S8, Google, Huawei etc

Wednesday, February 15, 2017

by Mpow
Simple Usage Modes Just push the Mpow mount holder into the CD slot, it will get stuck firmly. Then place the metal plate between your device and it can hold your smartphone safely. 360 Degree Swivel Innovative ballhead construction allows you to quickly adjust to optimal angle in 360 degrees. No Blind Side. Three-sided Clip Three-sided cradle keeps your sensitive electronic devices firmly in place while still allowing full function. Two cushioned side grips keep your electronic device safe and secure, while a detachable ledge creates a resting shelf for additional support. Remove your device easily and quickly with a push-button release. Wide Compatibility Up to 3.9in locking range allows large phones with thick otter box. Phone models included: iPhone X/8Plus/8/7Plus/7/6Plus/6s/6/5s, Samsung Galaxy S9 Plus/S9/Note 8/S8 Plus/S8/S7 Edge/S6 Edge/Note7/Note5, Google Nexus 6/Nexus 5/Nexus 4, LG V30 Plus/V30, Microsoft Lumia 950 XL Dual Slim ... Note:Unfitted Car Model According to customer' review, the car phone holder may not suitable for these models: 1.LEXUS F-350 2006、Lexus ES300 2016、Lexus is 250 2008、Lexus RX 350、Lexus NX200t 2015、LexusGS350; 2.Ford Focus 2014、F-150 2015、F-150 2017、Ford Fusion、Ford Escape 2015、Ford C-Max 2015、Ford Focus SEL 2012、Ford Flex 2010; 3.Nissan 2001、Nissan 2011、Nissan Tundra、Maxda CX-5 2017、Hyundai Tucson 2017、Sonata Hybrid 2013、2006 Toyota Tacoma、Astra 2012 ; 4.Cadillac SRX、Cadillac CTS 2010、Honda Accord、2015 Chevy Tahoe、2011 Chevy Equinox 、Dodge grand caravan 07、Chevy S10、GMC Sonoma、Gorvette 2002 Warranty Every Mpow Product includes a 45 days money back & 18-month worry-free!

$13.99 on Amazon.com

Bose SoundLink Micro Bluetooth speaker - Black

Wednesday, February 15, 2017

by Bose
The Bose Sound Link Micro Bluetooth speaker delivers sound so good for a speaker its size, you’ll never leave it behind. Proprietary Bose technology produces loud, clear sound—even outdoors—thanks to its custom-mounted transducer and passive radiators. All from a speaker that’s at home in your hand. It’s also waterproof from the inside out, has a soft but rugged exterior and tear-resistant silicone strap, so it’s ready to take with you on all life’s adventures. Attach it to your backpack or cooler, and don’t worry if it falls on the sidewalk or in the sand. And if you drop it in the pool, just dry it off and keep playing. Enjoy up to six hours of play time with a rechargeable lithium-ion battery. Pair your smartphone or tablet wirelessly and easily with Bluetooth connectivity and voice prompts. Press a button and take phone calls out loud directly through the speaker with crisp, clear Bose sound. The built-in speakerphone also gives you voice access to your phone’s Siri or your Google Assistant—directly through the speaker. It even works with the Echo Dot for hands-free voice control. Want even more sound? Use the free Bose Connect app to pair more than one compatible Bose Bluetooth speaker for Party Mode to play the same music through each. Or use Stereo Mode to separate right and left channels. Available in Black with Black strap, Midnight Blue with Smoky Violet strap or Bright Orange with Dark Plum strap. Included: Sound Link Micro Bluetooth speaker; USB cable.

$99.00 on Amazon.com

Anker PowerCore+ 26800 PD with 30W Power Delivery Charger, Portable Charger Bundle for MacBook Air / iPad Pro 2018, iPhone XS Max / X / 8, Nexus 5X / 6P, and USB Type-C Laptops with Power Delivery

Wednesday, February 15, 2017

by Anker
PowerCore+ 26800 PD The Premium Portable Charger with Power Delivery Power In Numbers Dual 5V/3A USB ports with PowerIQ technology offer faster charging speeds for phones and tablets. The USB-C port offers total Power Delivery support, charging compatible devices such as MacBook (C-to-Lightning cable required for iPhone 8). Set Yourself Free 26,800mAh is enough to keep your phones and tablets charged for a week or give your USB-C laptop over 1 full charge. Triple-Speed Recharge Using the included USB-C wall charger, PowerCore+ 26800 PD utilizes a huge 27 watts of power to fully charge in just over 4 hours. That's 3x faster than other portable chargers of this capacity. Note: - Compatible with USB-C MacBooks / iPad, iPhone 8 / X / XS / XR (Lightning cable required), Android smartphones and tablets (including the Nexus 7), and other USB-charged devices. - Incompatible with HTC 10, HP Spectre, Dell XPS series laptop, Dell Venue series laptop, Asus series laptops / tablets, as well as Lenovo ThinkPad 470s and ThinkPad X1 tablets. Some USB-C laptops which require an input over 30W may not be compatible. - Does not support high-speed charging for MacBook Pro, Samsung W700, Lumia 950, or Motorola Z Force Droid Edition. - Press the LED Power Wheel before connecting your device to activate USB-C output. - Nintendo Switch will not charge when connected via HDMI. - Not compatible with devices with an input below 50mA (e.g. some Bluetooth headsets and GPS devices).

$129.99 on Amazon.com

OontZ Angle 3 Enhanced Stereo Edition IPX5 Splashproof Portable Bluetooth Speaker with Volume Booster AMP 10 Watts Power, Custom Bass Radiator, 100' Wireless Range Bluetooth 4.2

Wednesday, February 15, 2017

by Cambridge Soundworks
The OontZ Angle 3 is Custom Designed and Engineered by Cambridge SoundWorks - An industry trusted brand for over 35 years, to deliver the critical features you're looking for in a portable Bluetooth speaker: High quality, loud stereo sound Rich, deep bass IPX5 water resistant 2200 mAh battery for up to 12 hours of playtime at 2/3 volume on a full charge Built-In Mic for Hands-Free Speakerphone Ultra-lightweight Cool, stylish design What makes it so much better? EXCELLENT SOUND AND VOLUME Two precision acoustic drivers provide very loud, distortion-free stereo sound in exceptionally high quality Passive bass radiator delivers punchy bass for a perfect blend of crisp highs, strong mids and deep lows; stand speaker on its side when playing bass heavy music to prevent it from moving around Power packed with loud sound to entertain and fill any room, outdoor gathering, picnic and pool party ULTRA PORTABLE IPX5 Water Resistant pushes the boundaries of portability so you can bring your OontZ Angle 3 to the beach, pool and in the shower Your go to compact speaker: weighs only 9 ounces and just over 5 inches long to fit in your backpack, purse, suitcase or travel bag 2200 mAh battery with 12 hour battery life on a single charge for taking on the go GREAT QUALITY Lightweight sturdy design with no sharp edges or corners and fits comfortably in the palm of your hand Connect over Bluetooth in just a few seconds to pair with your device up to 33 unobstructed feet away

$27.99 on Amazon.com

Apple Watch Stand-Tranesca Apple Watch Charging Stand for Series 4 / Series 3 / Series 2 / Series 1; 38mm/40mm/42mm/44mm Apple Watch-Rose Gold

Wednesday, February 15, 2017

by Tranesca
Apple Watch Stand-Tranesca Apple charging stand for 38mm and 42mm Apple watch Guarantee from Seller High Quality : We guarantee that every piece of our Tranesca watch stand is made of top quality materials including fortified TPU holder made from top quality German TPU and top quality aluminum with gloss finishing Safety Ensured: All of our watch stand will go through functionality testing before they are sent to you. Precise Cutting: We ensure the precise matching of Apple watch stand to the holes and cutouts of your Apple Watch and new Apple Watch 2 Simple and Elegant : We have re-designed the cable management hold to ensure a convenient and sturdy way to manage your Apple watch charging cable Compatible model: Apple Watch/Apple Watch 2 Warranty Policy: 3 months refund and 24 months exchange guarantee from Tranesca Last but not least:We have three vivid colors ( Silver, Gold, and Rose Gold to match the different colors of your Apple watch. Try the one that fit your watch best ! Frequently asked questions: Q:Why can't my Apple Watch be properly charged when it's put on the stand ? A: The round cutout for the charger may be a little tight upon first use. Please push the charger deeper into the round holder and make sure that the edges of the chargers meet flush with the edges of the round opening.

$9.95 on Amazon.com

Tech WTF is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.