iPhone 4 in 2017: User Review

by MartonB

Wednesday, February 15, 2017

In June 2010, the iPhone 4 was introduced by Steve Jobs as “the biggest leap since the original iPhone”. It was indeed a big leap, with 600,000 pre-orders in the first 24 hours, the iPhone 4 was a serious factor on the smartphone market in the years following its release. But what can this phone offer a user more than 6 years after it has been launched? This question was intriguing me when I’ve ordered a used iPhone 4 on eBay.
This happened back in May 2016. I needed a stable smartphone for basic online communication after my Samsung Galaxy S4 gave up when I accidentally spilled some water on it. I was on a budget of about 85 dollars. I was surprised and happy when eBay offered me the iPhone 4 for such a price; I loved the design of that phone since its original release. So I clicked on “Buy Now”, and I use that phone since then.

But what can it do today?

Battery life & charging

First of all, a major problem with this model can be the charging cable: the iPhone 4 still uses the broad 30-pin dock connector. Most users don’t like to use a bunch of different cables for every portable device they have, and nor do I: it’s a bit annoying to switch back and forth between the lightning and the big old cable everytime I want to charge my Ipad air after my iPhone.
The battery life is sufficient for me: with a very moderate usage (just phone calls, email checks and a bit of iMessage and facebook messenger), the battery can last up to three days without charging. On the days when I use my phone for more battery-draining tasks -for example tracking a 90 minutes long run with Endomondo or listening to music with a Bluetooth speaker- it still lasts one day, but overnight charging is inevitable.

iphone_4_563102 rsz_iphone-smartphone-phone-mobile-phone-48777

Design

Now design is everything when it comes to this phone. When introducing the new iPhone 4, Steve Jobs covered eight important features of the phone. Guess what he said first? “An all-new design”. And truly; the stainless steel and the aluminosilicate glass are beautiful materials, the shape is minimalistic and gorgeous. Even in 2017, the iPhone 4 is a smartphone which feels elegant to use. It really is a piece of art in my opinion. The size is just comfortable in my hands, but for those who like big screens, maybe watching videos on their phone, the 3.5-inch screen of iPhone 4 probably isn’t going to be big enough.

Durability

As I said before, the glass and the steel are cool. And these materials don’t just look great together: they are firmly put together to create a durable piece of technology. Of course, a phone covered mainly with glass can be a bit creepy for those who often drop their phone, or just tend to put it in the same pocket where their keys are. My solutions: transparent silicone case, crystal screen protector, and never dropping the iPhone. Apart from the last one, these can be bought for less than 7 dollars in Hungary.

Performance

It is slow. I basically have a routine of looking up from my iPhone for 3-4 seconds after launching an app, because I know it needs that amount of time to load. Apps run at a basically normal speed, little slower than a brand-new phone, but starting new apps takes time. What it never does, is freezing. I really like how a 6-year old used phone can still function without ever doing that. Android phones could learn from that!

The ultimate accessory for freelancers & digital nomads...

Best Features

What is amazing about this phone is the price they are selling it for. When I have bought my iPhone 4 in May 2016, I have paid 66 dollars for my 32GB factory unlocked model, which had a “good condition” quality rating on Ebay. (The shipping from Hong Kong was free.) And honestly, when it arrived, it would have been hard to tell if it was ever used before. Other than the price of it, the design -as I said- is beautiful, simple, and for somebody like me who likes smaller phones, it’s perfect. For me, the stability of this phone is also a great merit, and the battery time is quite good too if you mainly use it for basic tasks.

Worst Features

Now comes the bad part. Apart from the already mentioned slowness of the iPhone 4, the biggest problem for me is the software. In 2014, Apple discontinued support for iPhone 4 in iOS 8. So my device can be upgraded to iOS 7.1.2, and that’s it, nothing above that. For me, and I think for every user, the biggest downside of this restriction is that several apps cannot be used on iOS versions before iOS 8, and there are some apps that only enable to download earlier versions, which are compatible with iOS 7. For me, the lack of Apple Music and Siri is a really big handicap. Not being able to synchronize the songs which I listen to on my iPad to my iPhone is really annoying. About Siri: the iOS 7 has a so-called Voice Control function, which at first sight looks like a blue-background version of Siri, but sadly, its voice recognition is not very powerful, and it can only do a couple of things if it gets what you are trying to say to it.
Another problem is the camera. The iPhone 4 has a 5-megapixel camera with a LED flash, and it has been the first iPhone to ever have a front-facing camera. But despite its historical merits, the photo taking abilities of this phone are as crappy as it can get. In daylight, I can take acceptable photos, but after sunset it’s terrible, and the flashlight doesn’t help at all. I think I never used that flashlight apart from the torch function, which is handy, but my nighttime photos are still unrecognizable.

 

Overall

I think buying used iPhone 4 models can be the perfect low-budget solution for anyone who wants to have an elegant smartphone from quality materials. It is also a great choice if you are a fan of smaller devices, which fit in your palm and your pockets really comfortably. I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone who needs a big screen or wants to use anything not supported below iOS version 8. Also, this device is not the one for capturing high-quality photos.

iphone4ebay

For me, apart from missing Apple Music and Siri, it’s a real bargain. When this phone was launched, I was in high school and I couldn’t afford to have the iPhone 4. One of my wealthier classmates did have it, and I remember when I got to try it out, it felt so elegant and futuristic. Six years after those days in school, it still does.

Read more about the Apple iPhone SE on Apple’s website

Overall Rating: 8/10

by MartonB

by MartonB

Wednesday, February 15, 2017

My name is Márton, and I am a linguist, phonetician and a self-taught web developer from Hungary. I love to explore new things. Exploring how the language works is my profession, exploring technology is my passion. So let's explore together!

Read more at track2tech.com

Buy iPhone 4 in 2017 & Accessories

Cell Phone Holder for Car, Car Phone Mounts for iPhone 7 Plus, Dashboard GPS Holder Mounting in Vehicle for Samsung Galaxy S8, and Other 3-6.8 Inch Universal Smartphones and GPS - Black

Wednesday, February 15, 2017

by Bosynoy
Compatible: All 3.0-6.8inch GPS navigator, smartphones and other handheld devices, such as for iPhone X/8/8 Plus/7/7 Plus/6/6 Plus/SE/5S, Samsung Galaxy S9/S9 Plus/S8/S8 Plus/Note 8/S7/S6, LG V30/V30 +/V20/G6/G5, Google Pixel/Pixel XL, HTC, Motorola, ZTE, Nexus, Nokia, Garmin Nuvi, Tom Tom, Magellan Roadmate, Navman etc. FEATURES: 1. Designed without magnets, no harm to your device. 2. The holder can be opened or closed. When not in use, the lines on the surface is perfectly combine with car interior, and it can be used to keep parking cards or keys. 3. Universal Car Mount Holder can be installed easily and quickly. 4. The surface of the black matte of Stylish high-end design, comfortable and not dazzling. 5. Gel pad sticks is easy to clean. Do not leave residue on the dashboard. 6. High-quality and environmental materials of plastic together with rubber, long lifespan and aging resistant NOTICE for INSTALLATION: 1. Applies to the vast majority of the dashboard, except for some curved / sculpted / rounded surfaces. It needs a flat area(5.5inch*7.5inch) on your dashboard for installation. Besides, It won't work well if the windshield is too slanted. 2. It is not recommended to purchase if your vehicle is the following types: Like 2009 Tundra, 2016 Subaru Impreza, 2016 Nissan Frontier, mini cooper, 2016 Audi Q7, 2012 Honda Civic, 2008 Toyota Yaris, BMW i3, 2013 Audi A7, Jeep Cherokee, etc. 3. Clean your dashboard, make sure the surface Dry and No dust, and then remove the base transparent film before installation. 4. Wash the base with water when you want to move it to another car. 5. The holder could not stay sticky if the dashboard waxed. SPECIFICATION: Dimensions: 7 x 5 x 0.79 inches (L x W x H) Weight: 0.65lb If you have any problem, please contact us by email freely and we will always be here to service for you.

$12.99 on Amazon.com

Portable Charger RAVPower 22000mAh External Battery Pack 22000 Power Banks 5.8A Output 3-Port (2.4A Input, iSmart 2.0 USB Ports, Li-polymer Phone Charger) For Smartphone Tablet – Black

Wednesday, February 15, 2017

by RAVPower
DC 5V/2A or 5V/2.4A charger as well as the original usb cable are recommended to recharge the battery pack which takes about 10-12 hours.During recharging, the first battery indicator starts blinking when the power bank is being charged. When the battery level reaches 25%, the first indicator becomes solid and the second starts blinking. The pattern repeats until all indicators become solid and the device is fully charged. Make It Three. Make It Right Not one, not two, but three iSmart 2.0 USB ports to power up to 3 devices at once. A Whole Week Without A Power Socket Whether you use it for yourself or you share it with your friends, its huge 22000mAh capacity will take care of any power need you throw at it: fully charge an iPhone X up to 4.9 times, iPhone 8 7.2 times,a Galaxy S8 4.4 times, S7 up to 5 times, or an iPad Mini more than 2 times. When the power bank is finally empty, charge it back up in just 10-11 hours with a 5V / 2A or 2.4A ac adapter. Made To Outlast The new and improved portable charger with high-density Li-polymer battery outlasts both conventional Li-polymer batteries and 18650 cells when it comes to efficiency, performance, and protection. What's In the Box: 1 x RAVPower Ace Series 22000mAh Power Bank 2 x Micro-USB Charging Cables 1 x Carry Pouch 1 x Lifetime Warranty Card 1 x User Guide Note: 1.If all the 4 LED start to blink,It is because the Self - Protection mode has been turned on both USB input and output are disabled. To restore functionality, disconnect all connections and wait 10 seconds, then charge the product. 2. Compatible with the new 12 inch MacBook 2015 (USB-C to USB 2.0 cable needed) & tablets (including the Nexus 7).

$41.99 on Amazon.com

Seneo Wireless Charger, Qi Certified Wireless Charging Stand Compatible iPhone Xs MAX/XR/XS/X/8/8 Plus, 10W Galaxy Note 9/S9/S9 Plus/Note 8/S8, 5W All Qi-Enabled Phones(No AC Adapter)

Wednesday, February 15, 2017

by Seneo
Say goodbye to messy cables with Seneo Wireless Charger! Compatible Devices for FAST CHARGING Mode (QC 3.0 AC Adapter is required): Galaxy S9/S9 Plus//Note 8/S8/S8 plus/S7/S7 Edge/Note 5/S6 Edge Plus Compatible Devices for STANDARD CHARGING Mode (5V 2A AC Adapter is required): iPhoneX/iPhone8/iPhone8 Plus Galaxy S6/S6 Edge Lumia 920/1020/928/1520/820/822/930/950 Moto Droid Maxx/Droid Mini/MOTO Droid turbo Google Nexus 4/5/6 Born for iPhoneX/8/8Plus: You can use earphone when charging on wireless charger stand while it is unavailable for wired charging and Seneo wireless charger stand offers nice angle of 60° for FACE ID Intelligent LED Light: Seneo wireless charger will turn into blue for 5 seconds when it connects to power, then turn off on standby status, and will turn into green when it starts to charge phone; FOR iPhoneX, 8 Plus, 8, light won’t TURN OFF and keep charging status even if phone is fully charged ATTENTION PLEASE: -PLEASE NOTE THAT GALAXY S9+ AND S9 OEM AC ADAPTER CANNOT SUPPORT FAST WIRELESS CHARGING -PLEASE NOTE THAT WIRELESS CHARGING IS SUPPOSED TO BE SLOWER THAN REGULAR WIRED CHARGING AS IT PROTECTS YOU DEVICES CHARGING PORT AND PROLONG BATTERY’S LIFE - PLEASE NOTE THAT METAL AND MAGNETIC ATTACHMENTS OR CREDIT CARDS WILL CAUSE CHARGING DISCONNECTING - PLEASE NOTE THAT PC USB PORT, 5V 1A AC ADAPTER OR OTHER LOW VOLTAGE DEVICES CAN’T SUPPORT NORMAL WIRELESS CHARGING PLEASE CONTACT SENEO IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTION, WE WILL GET BACK TO YOU AS SOON AS POSSIBLE Package Contents: 1 x Qi Wireless Charger Pad Stand 1 x 3.3ft Micro USB Cable 1 x User Manual 1 x UPGRADED THREE YEARS WARRANTY

$16.96 on Amazon.com

Mpow Car Phone Mount,Washable Strong Sticky Gel Pad with One-Touch Design Dashboard Car Phone Holder for iPhone X/8/8Plus/7/7Plus/6s/6Plus/5S, Galaxy S5/S6/S7/S8, Google Nexus, LG, Huawei and More

Wednesday, February 15, 2017

by Mpow
Description The dashboard car mount holder allows you to drive effortlessly by easy operation. Secure Mounting Strong sticky suction with secure locking mechanism ensures snug fit for most surfaces. Easy to restore the sticky gel by rinsing with water and air dry. Optimal Viewing The car mount holder can be adjusted to the perfect viewing angle with its 360° flexible ball head. Telescopic arm offers great extension for ideal height and accessibility. Sturdy Structure The stability of the mount on the dashboard relies both on the super suction cup with sticky gel pad and the specially designed structure to reduce the whole force moment. Simple Installation and Removal Adjust the desired length and angle of the telescopic arm. Pull down the locking lever to lock the mount in place. Pull up locking lever and pull the tab of the suction cup for easy removal. Wide Compatibility 4.6-6.6in (11.8-16.8cm) arm width range to adjust. Compatible with most cell phones up to 6 inches including iPhone, Sony, Google, LG, HTC, Blackberry, etc. Specifications: Package: 5.9×3.2×3.5 inch (150×80×90mm) Net Weight: 7.8oz (220g) Package Included: Universal Holder×1 Dashboard Mount×1 User Manual×1 Warranty: Every Mpow Product includes a 45 days money back & 18-month worry-free! Note: 1.You would better not to put it on the car windshield. 2.Using some water in your suction cup bottom,you will get a better experience.3.As summer approaches and days are getting hotter, please avoid direct exposure to the sun as this may affect the function of your car mount

$9.99 on Amazon.com

Vena iPhone Xs/X Wallet Case, [vCommute][Military Grade Drop Protection] Flip Leather Cover Card Slot Holder with Kickstand for Apple iPhone Xs 2018 / X 2017 5.8" (Space Gray/Black)

Wednesday, February 15, 2017

by Vena
Patented iPhone XS / X Wallet Case With Vena's patented vCommute wallet, you can conveniently store your ID, credit/debit cards, business cards, or transit cards in the hidden card slot on the back of the case. Better yet, vCommute even works with Apple Pay. Multi-Angle Magnetic-Lock Stand This unique and versatile iPhone XS / X case features a leather cover that folds up in three different positions, giving you the convenience to watch videos and movies at your desired angle. Military Grade Drop Protection with CornerGuard Technology Made from premium polycarbonate (PC) and shock-absorbing thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU), this iPhone XS / X armor case has been drop tested to meet MIL-STD 810G-516.6, surviving 26 drops from 4 feet high. With CornerGuard technology, it disperses the force from shock and impact throughout the case. Precise Craftsmanship, Detailed Design The vCommute case is designed with precision cut-outs and provides effortless access to all ports, buttons, and features of your phone. The power and volume buttons are crafted to maintain the same great tactile feedback as your phone's buttons. Magnetic Car Mount Friendly The magnetic leather flap is compatible with magnetic car mounts no additional plate or adhesive needed. Satisfaction Guaranteed A limited lifetime warranty is included with your Vena product. If you are not completely satisfied with your purchase, simply reach out to us and we will replace or refund your purchase. Visit our website for more details. Note: 1. The card holder can store up to 2 cards (subject to the thickness of your cards). 2. Please open flap for wireless charging. 3. Metal credit cards will interfere with wireless charging. Please remove before charging.

$24.99 on Amazon.com

Tech WTF is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.