MacBook Pro Retina 2015 : Nice, but not too much

by Serena Cummings

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

MacBook Pro Retina

This is the MacBook Pro Retina 2015

Introduction

The model A1502 is a MacBook Pro which has a 13-inch Retina display and it was put out on the market in the year 2015. I was looking for a new computer to replace the old white plastic MacBook (from the late ‘00 and precisely 2009) I had because it was really slowing down even if I have upgraded it with an SSHD and more RAM. So through a quick search on the web, I found this offer where they sell a refurbished MacBook Pro with a huge discount of about 25% and some time later I was already doing a total backup of my computer in order to transfer all my data. Now I’m here to talk about it after some months of use.

Battery Life & Charging

Let’s start with a good point: battery lasts, and it lasts a lot. Apple says it can last up to 10 hours of web browsing and my personal experience almost went that far. This MacBook has some not-so-original spare parts like, yeah, the battery (because it’s refurbished) but it bravely made 7 hour and a half off the grid and this is really useful when you have to travel from city to city which means that there aren’t any socket to plug charger in (I live in Italy so make your guess…). The problem is that pushing the Mac a little more like having 4-5 web browser tabs open while listening to music going causes the battery to drop down to little more than 5 hours. What a shame but it’s understandable.

My MacBoook Pro

I’m writing from this

Performance & Design

Switching to the performance talk, this Mac packs a powerful 2,9 GHz dual-core Intel i5 processor with a level 3 shared cache of 3 MB alongside 8 GB LPDDR3 1866 MHz SDRAM split into two slots of 4 each. Even if it is still a dual-core processor, it gets things done. I am a graphic designer in my spare time and I can create a poster or edit a short video without crashes or significant slowdowns while doing other operations such as surfing the web or listening to music. Gaming is on another level: the integrated graphic card is, unfortunately, an Intel Iris Graphics 6100 that shares the memory with the system so don’t expect playing games at maximum resolution, but you should play things like League of Legends with no worries. Moreover the 13-inch Retina backlit display provides a Full HD resolution of 2560 x 1600 with 227 ppi and I must say that movies are pretty neat to watch from here (you don’t need any dongle because there is an integrated HDMI port) also because the speakers are good but if you crank it up too much low noises like bass make the computer vibrate so watch out for that.

MacBook Cover

This is what protects my Mac

Strength & Durability

Now we talk about strength. I suggest using a sleeve or some protection like that because computer nowadays gets lighter and lighter and this makes them extremely vulnerable to falls, even the smallest ones. This Mac makes no exception. For example, I got a cover for it (like the ones for iPhones) in order to protect it from light scratches or bumps because the plastic/aluminum unibody surely feels light and smooth but not so resistant. It has worked so far: it survived a pretty rough bike crash during the morning commute and some minor fall when it was inside my bag and I took the bag off my back. Since that, I carry it without worrying too much.

Best Features

The thing I appreciate the most is its lightness and powerfulness. This Mac weights less than 3.5 pounds like two university books but it’s half thick as them. This makes it perfect for using it on the go whenever I go, even if I am with no electricity because the battery lasts enough, as I said before, to take notes for half a day of lectures. Also the internal 500 GB PCIe flash storage gives me enough space to store all my stuff and projects without relying on a cloud storage service and his SSD makes the Mac work, as Daft Punk would say,(a lot) harder, better, faster and stronger than a normal HDD which is very important for me because I usually have 5/6 tabs open in my web browser running with a video/image editing program and a writing app. Moreover, the glass touchpad feels really smooth to use and has a great feedback which is also customizable depending on your needs. It gives its best when you learn the gestures like the three-finger Mission Control that simplify a lot of common operations such as switching between apps and windows. I can’t do anything without it anymore because it’s so easy and simple.

Worst Features

But, because there is a “but” everywhere, there is one thing I can’t get through: Force Touch. I studied how to use it, I watched videos to see what it does and I tried by myself whenever it was possible it, but it’s no use. It doesn’t feel like something as easy as the touchpad gestures and I still don’t know what is its purpose about the “variable speed controls in multimedia file”. Yes, Force Touch shows Quick Look about files, but nothing I can’t do as quickly as with a spacebar clap. There is another thing that I really hate of this device and it’s the power button. On previous MacBooks, the on/off button was completely different because it was more like a button on the case (like in a desktop computer) than on the keyboard. Now it is the same as the “enter” button: same material, same strength and same resilience and because of this I can never tell when I have pressed it or not. I’m used to turn of the Mac by pressing the power button and clicking to shut down but many times it was shut off forcefully because I didn’t understand I was pressing the button. It’s a big flaw in design and I think I’m not the only one.

Overall Review

We all know there is no perfect computer but to sum up I think this one it’s good and, apart from what I said in the last paragraph, I see that peculiarities and features greatly overcome flaws and imperfections. It has greatly improved my life because its speed grants me the ability to do multiple things at once and since I’m a freelancer I don’t like wasting time waiting for a computer to respond (like everyone I hope) because time is money. I’m really happy this MacBook has come into my hands because I love it and I hope it will last more than the last one. We’re talking about more than 9 years which is a lot for any electronic gadget in the IT world. I surely recommend buying this Mac to all my friends and my readers who like Macs and want to save something while having a powerful machine that can do a lot of things like gaming and graphic design or to who wants to switch from Windows and wants to try a new operative system under their hands. I hope you liked my review and if it helped you let me know in the comments below.

Overall Rating: 8/10
by Serena Cummings

by Serena Cummings

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

Fiddling with PCs since I was 10. Now PCs fiddle with me.

Read more at jacopotoni.net

Buy MacBook Pro Retina 2015 & Accessories

Kuzy - BLACK Rubberized Hard Case for Older MacBook Pro 15.4" with Retina Display A1398 15-Inch Plastic Shell Cover - BLACK

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

by Kuzy
Kuzy High Quality Rubberized Series Hard Case Design to fit ONLY — MacBook Pro 15.4" — Model: A1398 Kuzy carry a wide variety of MacBook accessories. You will want to get something that is protective as well as pleasing to the eye. MacBook Pro 15.4 inch Rubberized case products have popular graphics and designs, which allow you to match your computer accessories with your personality. It's smooth but still provides a good grip on the MacBook for your peace of mind. You will be delighted with our MacBook Pro 15.4-inch Rubberized case products. Specifications — Great fit for MacBook Pro 15.4" with Retina Display Aluminum Unibody — No cut out design, Apple Logo Shine through the case — Hard Plastic Case with Rubber paint over Top and Bottom Covers for Silky-smooth soft-touch — Smooth yet grippy rubberized exterior texture to Protect your MacBook Pro from scrapes and scratches — Case Design lets you Open/Close your MacBook all the way and Access to all Ports — Material: Polycarbonate —|— Please check Model Number of your MacBook Pro —|— Case Compatible ONLY withModel: A1398 —— MacBook Pro 15.4" with Retina Display —— Release 2015 MJLU2LL/A , MJLQ2LL/A , AMJLT2LL/A Release 2014 and 2013 MGXA2LL/A, MGXC2LL/A ME293LL/A, ME294LL/A Release 2012 MC975LL/A, MC976LL/A, ME664LL/A, ME665LL/A Case NOT Compatible with: — MacBook Pro 15-inch New Shape Version 2016 with Touch Bar — MacBook Pro 15.4-inch Older Version with Regular Glossy Display — MacBook Pro 13.3-inch — MacBook White 13-inch — MacBook Air 13-inch * Apple MacBook are registered trademarks of Apple, Inc. Products are Apple compatible and not endorsed by Apple, Inc.

$17.99 on Amazon.com

iBenzer Macbook Pro 13 Inch Case 2012-2015, Soft Touch Hard Case Shell Cover with Keyboard Cover for Apple MacBook Pro 13 with Retina Display A1425 1502, Crystal Clear, MMP13R-CYCL+1

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

by iBenzer
MacBooks are beautiful. That's why we made sure that our Apple MacBook protective casing offers maximum protection while retaining the MacBook’s aesthetics. Our casing was built to work with MacBook design elements to ensure that the sleek and minimal design of your MacBook is retained. Elegance, Function and Protection Just when you thought your Apple MacBook couldn't look any better, check out our iBenzer Protective Case and think again! iBenzer Protective Case does not only protect your Apple laptop from inevitable dings and scratches that comes with everyday use, it also further enhances its already impressive design aesthetics. Made out of high-grade transparent plastic, our protective casing was made to fit perfectly with your MacBook. It has cut-outs for all USB and ventilation ports, as well as rubberized feet hat adds a few millimeter of surface separation to maximize air circulation. It also comes in different colors to cater to your different moods and taste. Get yourself one today and start protecting your Apple MacBook in style! iBenzer Protective Case Design Features Designed in New York, the iBenzer Protective Case comes with many features that complements and enhances the look and feel of your MacBook. Two-piece lightweight design that snaps securely to your laptop and snaps off easily when needed. Protective casing comes with jack and USB ports that matches your MacBook. All ports are accessible without having the need to remove the case. Per protective case matches all the ventilation slots of your MacBook to ensure unhindered airflow to and from your laptop. Additional FREE Components Keyboard cover - The FREE keyboard cover matches the color of your protective casing

$12.99 on Amazon.com

Kuzy - Older Version MacBook Pro 13.3 inch Case (Release 2015-2012) Rubberized Hard Cover for Model A1502 / A1425 with Retina Display Shell Plastic - BLACK

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

by Kuzy
Kuzy High Quality Rubberized Series Hard Case Design to fit ONLY — [Older Version] — MacBook Pro 13.3 inch — Models: A1502 & A1425 Release Years: 2015 / 2014 / 2013 / 2012 Kuzy carry a wide variety of MacBook accessories. You will want to get something that is protective as well as pleasing to the eye. MacBook Pro 13.3 inch Rubberized case products have popular graphics and designs, which allow you to match your computer accessories with your personality. It's smooth but still provides a good grip on the MacBook for your peace of mind. You will be delighted with our MacBook Pro 13.3-inch Rubberized case products. Specifications — Great fit for MacBook Pro 13.3" with Retina Display [Older Version] — Models: A1502 & A1425 — Release Years: 2015 / 2014 / 2013 / 2012 — No cut out design, Apple Logo Shine through the case — Hard Plastic Case with Rubber paint over Top and Bottom Covers for Silky-smooth soft-touch — Case Design lets you Open/Close your MacBook all the way and Access to all Ports — Compatible MacBook with Force Touch Trackpad — Material: Polycarbonate —|— Please check Model Number of your MacBook Pro —|— Compatible ONLY with: [Older Version] MacBook Pro 13.3" with Retina Display Model: A1502 Release 2015 MF843LL/A, MF841LL/A, MF840LL/A, MF839LL/A Release 2014 and 2013 MGX72LL/A, MGX82LL/A, MGX92LL/A ME864LL/A, ME865LL/A, ME866LL/A and Release October 2012 Model: A1425 MD212LL/A, MD213LL/A, ME662LL/A ME664LL/A Case NOT Compatible with — MacBook Pro 13-inch Release 2018, 2017, 2016 with Touch Bar (Newest Shape) — MacBook Pro 13.3-inch Older Version with Regular Glossy Display — MacBook White 13-inch — MacBook Air 13.3-inch

$15.95 on Amazon.com

RUBAN Case Macbook Old Retina 15" No CD-ROM (2012-2015 ) Release (A1398), Plastic Hard Case Shell with Keyboard Cover for Old Macbook Pro 15-inch 15.4" with Retina Display, Crystal Clear.

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

by RUBAN
RUBAN® High Quality Matte Series Hard Case Case Features: - Great fit for MacBook Pro 15" Aluminum Unibody (A1398) - Sleek , Shiny finish & Strong, shatter proof plastic. Crystal See Through Hard Case Cover - No cut out design, Apple Logo Shine through the case - Allows you access to all your important plugs and drives while highlighting the unique look of your MacBook Pro 15-inch with Retina Display - Material: Polycarbonate Case Compatible with: - MacBook Pro 15" with Retina Display A1398 MacBook Pro (15-inch with Retina Display, Mid 2015) Macbook Pro 11,4 MJLQ2xx/A Macbook Pro 11,5 MJLT2xx/A Macbook Pro 11,5 MJLU2xx/A MacBook Pro (15-inch with Retina Display, Mid 2014) MacBook Pro 11,2 MGXA2xx/A MacBook Pro 11,3 MGXC2xx/A MacBook Pro (15-inch with Retina Display, Late 2013) MacBook Pro 11,2 ME293xx/A MacBook Pro 11,3 ME294xx/A MacBook Pro (15-inch with Retina Display, Early 2013) Macbook Pro 10,1 ME664xx/A, ME665xx/A MacBook Pro (15-inch with Retina Display, Mid 2012) Macbook Pro 10,1 MC975xx/A, MC976xx/A Case NOT Compatible with: - MacBook 12-Inch with Retina Display (A1534) - MacBook Pro 15-Inch without Retina Display(A1286) - MacBook Pro 13-Inch with Retina Display (A1502 and A1425) - MacBook Pro 13-Inch without Retina Display (A1278) - MacBook Air 13-Inch (A1369 and A1466) - MacBook Air 11-Inch (A1370 and A1465) Package Includes: - 1 x Matte Hard Case - 1 x Keyboard Skin Cover Friendly Note: In order to ensure that the products will fit perfectly on your laptop, please check the model number before your purchase:) Apple MacBook are registered trademarks of Apple, Inc. Products are Apple compatible and not endorsed by Apple, Inc.

$14.90 on Amazon.com

TOP CASE - 2 in 1 Rubberized Hard Case Cover Compatible with Apple Old Gen. MacBook Pro 13.3"(13" Diagonally) with Retina Display (Old Gen. 2012-2015) A1425 & A1502 and Keyboard Cover - Serenity Blue

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

by TOP CASE
TopCase High Quality Rubberized Series Hard Case Case Specifications - Great fit for MacBook Pro 13" with Retina Display A1425 and A1502 - Apple Logo Shine through the case - Hard Plastic Case with Rubber paint over Top and Bottom Covers for Silky-smooth soft-touch Case Features - Case give your MacBook Pro a smooth, semi-translucent frosted finish that easily slips in and out your bag while retaining a grippy edge for your peace of mind. - Smooth yet grippy rubberized exterior texture to Protect your MacBook Pro from scrapes and scratches - Case Design lets you Open/Close your MacBook all the way and Access to all Ports, USB, Thunderbolt, HDMI, SD Card, Power, Audio Out. Colors Available: - Black - Gray - Clear - Orange - Pink - Hot Pink - Red - Royal Blue - Green - Purple - Aqua Blue - Hot Blue - Yellow Case Only Compatible with: MacBook Pro 13.3" with Retina Display Newest Release October 2013 Model: A1502 ME864LL/A, ME865LL/A, ME866LL/A and Release October 2012 Model: A1425 MD212LL/A, MD213LL/A, ME662LL/A ME664LL/A Please check Model of your MacBook at the Back side. This case will only fit Modesl: A1502 & A1425 * Apple MacBook are registered trademarks of Apple, Inc. Products are Apple compatible and not endorsed by Apple, Inc.

$14.99 on Amazon.com

Tech WTF is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.