MacBook Pro: User Review

by Misael Hilario

Sunday, November 13, 2016

Mac wallpaper

I’ve had this macbook computer – also called airmac or just mac – since August 2015. It was chosen by me with some help from my older brother who is a bit knowledgeable about computer hardware and software specifications – GHz Core and Graphics 4000 aren’t very meaningful words for me -, and so he assisted me in learning a bit more about those specifications and comparing it with other models to ensure I get a quality product.

The idea was to have a good portable computer that was able to support my video game knacks, and allow me to work on different kinds of professional documents and projects. Something that will be able to handle high definition media, even if it’s not used that often.

Here are some specifications about the model:

Processor 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5

Memory 4 GB 1600 MHz DDR3

Graphics Intel HD Graphics 4000 1536 MB

Current version is OS X El Capitan 10.11.6 (I believe was Yosemite when I first got it)

BATTERY

Battery life is at about 6 hours from the 100%. Watching videos / listening to music constantly can reduce that to about 3:30 hours. This has worked just fine for me: I travel weekly to another town about 2 hours 40 minutes away and, aside from when I forget to charge it, it hasn’t let me down so far. I can play games, read an ebook or listen to music just fine during the whole trip. It’s also very light, so it’s a nice travel companion. Charging time is around 4 hours.

DURABILITY

About the physical durability: I have taken motorcycle transport with it and taken a few light bumps, hasn’t affected the computer. BUT I DO NOT RECOMMEND DOING THIS, as said before the MacBook is quite light so it doesn’t feel too tough. I may just have been lucky. Also the case that comes with it is soft & protective on the front & back but the upper & lower parts are not, so keep that in mind.

DESIGN

The design is stylish and very modern: gray-silver color with the elegant apple logo on the back, looks quite neat. Even on the inside the black & white keyboard buttons are stylish. If you’re that type of guy, you can place a sticker or two in the laptop. Back part is more visible for others: good for advertising, inside more visible to user: anything gives it that personal feeling.

MOUSE VS. TOUCHPAD

The MacBook doesn’t have a mouse per se, instead it has a touch pad. It may take a little time to adjust to it when you’re coming form Microsoft, as many people are; but it’s actually very intuitive. Slide to move in a direction, tap to click, double-tap to double click. Other commands can be more tricky such as sliding with three fingers to open a menu with all the windows. Again, it can take time to adjust but once you do, it has a certain flow that a mouse does not.

MICROSOFT VS. APPLE PROGRAMS

Round one… Fight!

A very similar thing happens with the «Microsoft Office» type-programs. Powerpoint, Excel and Word each have a corresponding program on Apple: «Keynote», «Numbers» and «Pages» respectively. For the most part what you can do in one you can do on the other, but the feeling of it changes. On Microsoft it feels like you have more options at first glance: you want to make a certain type of chart or smart map, you look for it; on mac you also have this but the options, at first, seem limited.

The truth is that while on Microsoft you have more readily-able templates, on Apple you have more customization power: more is left to the user and less to the system. This means for you to be effective on Apple, or at least make the most use of some of its programs, certain abilities are required.

The OS Mac uses is also less prone to errors. You won’t be getting blue screens of death on this type of computer.

It has a 500 GB capacity which is very satisfying for me. All of my movies, video games and entertainment that I had on my older computer would fit in just fine and leave plenty of space open, so It’s good not to have that concern.

Looking for a Writer? You can hire Misael Hilario at Writers Agency...

AN ISSUE WITH SOME EXPORTS

I have had some issues with Keynote, more specifically exporting Keynote presentations to Powerpoint. What happens most of the time is that you export the presentation, you open it up on the Mac to test it, works just fine. However, when the moment of truth comes, you open it on a Microsoft computer and Bam! Error message. The presentation opens but all slides are completely empty. Has happened to me twice already, last time in front of a crowd of over 50 people.

You can work around this by exporting to PDF instead. You won’t be able to use slide effects, but you can maximize the document and use arrow keys to change pages, so you’ll have your slides.

The camera quality is also not very good, but then again this is the case for most laptops.

MY OVERALL EXPERIENCE

I have been very happy with the change. First, the looks of the computer are just something I dig, but this looks are also reflected in the style in which you use it. It has a natural feel to the touch pad and the fact that it leaves more room to the user to handle the programs is an improvement for me, because I’m just the type of person who is always looking to learn.

Also because it’s so light and the battery time is more than enough it has been great for travel, I take about 3 classes weekly and I use it on all of them. I give it an 8.5/10.

Do you agree with this review? Is there something I may have missed? Post your comment below, we’re always looking for feedback.

You can find the product at amazon here.

 

 

Keywords: macbook, airmac, apple, microsoft, user review

by Misael Hilario

by Misael Hilario

Sunday, November 13, 2016

I'm a psychologist with a passion for his career. I have a bachelor in general psychology and I'm currently coursing on a master's in clinical psychology. I try to always keep up with my career and understand how it is relevant to today's problems. My freelancing website is called Misael Hilario: Critical thought in Psychology and Well-being, and deals with education on psychological concepts as well as thinking critically about issues. I've also had a spanish blog called Pensando RD for some time, dedicated to social critiques and psychological perspectives on different issues. One article dealt with Pokémon GO and its controversy. Freelancing blog: www.misaelhilario.com Spanish blog: www.pensandord.blogspot.com Hobbies include reading, watching lectures and playing video games.

Read more at misaelhilario.com

Buy MacBook Pro & Accessories

MOSISO MacBook Pro 13 Case 2018 2017 2016 Release A1989/A1706/A1708, Plastic Hard Shell Cover with Screen Protector Compatible Newest MacBook Pro 13 Inch with/Without Touch Bar, Crystal Clear

Sunday, November 13, 2016

by MOSISO
MOSISO High Quality Soft Touch Plastic Hard Case Series Specifications Designed ONLY to be compatible with The Newest MacBook Pro 13 Inch (A1989 with Touch Bar, A1706 with Touch Bar and A1708 without Touch Bar, Release 2018 2017 2016). Snap on design, easy on easy off Fully access to all buttons and features Plug your charger, cable or headset without removing the case Super light-weight with smooth rubberized exterior texture to protect your MacBook from scrapes and scratches Material: Polycarbonate Case Compatible with Newest MacBook Pro 13 Inch with Touch Bar Model: A1989 / A1706 Newest MacBook Pro 13 Inch without Touch Bar Model: A1708 Release 2018 -- MR9Q2LL/A, MR9R2LL/A Release June 2017 -- MPXV2LL/A, MPXX2LL/A, MPXW2LL/A, MPXY2LL/A, MPXQ2LL/A, MPXR2LL/A, MPXT2LL/A, MPXU2LL/A Release October 2016 -- MLL42LL/A, MLUQ2LL/A, MLH12LL/A, MLVP2LL/A, MNQF2LL/A, MNQG2LL/A Case NOT Compatible with MacBook Air 11 Inch (A1465 / A1370) MacBook 12 Inch with Retina Display (A1534) MacBook Air 13 Inch (A1466 / A1369) MacBook Pro 13 Inch with Retina Display (A1502 / A1425) Old MacBook Pro 13 Inch with CD-Rom (A1278) MacBook Pro 15 Inch with Retina Display (A1398) Old MacBook Pro 15/15.4 Inch with CD-Rom (A1286) Installation 1. Please find the 4 clips for top cover and 4 cilps for bottom cover. 2. Please attach the bottom cover at the hinge location first, there are 2 clips to secure the back side of bottom cover. 3. Apply gentle force to the 2 clips at the front side of bottom cover. 4. Please attach the top cover at the hinge location first. 5. Apply gentle force to snap on the top cover.

$14.49 on Amazon.com

[USB-IF Certified] USB C Charger, Nekteck 4-Port 72W USB Wall Charger with Type-C 60W Power Delivery PD Charger Station for 2017 MacBook Pro, Pixel 3/2/ Pixel/Pixel XL Galaxy Note 8/ S8/ S9 Plus

Sunday, November 13, 2016

by Nekteck
Note: This cable has built-in eMark chip so it might not work with non-compliant charger. Essential Phone will pick 12V rail and shows "charging slowly" incorrectly, but, the actual charging speed will NOT be slower". This item is PURELY a charger. It's not a Hub, and it won't transfer data from USB-C to A. Dell XPS 13" has restriction for 3rd party charger, so there might be a warning message(at lease 45W) when you plug in this charger. Specification Input: 100V-240V/AC, 50/60Hz, 1.5A Max Output: Type-C PD 60W + USB-A 5V/2.4A(Smart) USB-C PD: 5V/9V/12V/15V/20V--3A USB-A: Total 5V/2.4A Max Dimensions: 3.14*3.74*1.97inch USB1/2/3 Type-A port with intelligent IC charge up to 3 devices simultaneously at their fastest possible charging speed What is USB-C USB-C is the new future-proof connection standard delivering faster speeds, more efficient power delivery, low-profile fully reversible and user-friendly design with its 24 pin terminal. Guaranteed Safety UL/CE/FCC/USB-IF certified with 6 circuit design protection( Automatic Recovery, Over Voltage Protection, Over Current Protection, Short Circuit Protection, Safe Charging, Radidation Protection ) Compatible with Type-C Devices: *MacBook 12inch(2015/2016, MacBook Pro 2016 *Google Chromebook Pixel, Pixelbook, Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon 201, *Thinkpad x1 tablet, LG Gram 15, New Nokia N1 Tablet, *Galaxy TabPro S, Galaxy Tab S3, ASUS ZenPad 3S 10, *Nintendo Switch, Nexus 5X/6P, LG G5 G6, *Samsung S8, HTC 10, Nokia N1, OnePlus 2, *Microsoft Lumia 950/950 XL, Lenovo zuk Z1, Nubia Z9 and more. Standard USB-A Port Compatible Devices:(Cable is not included) Apple iPhone 7, Se, 6s, 6s Plus, 6 Plus, 5, 5C, 5S, iPad Pro/Mini/Air Free Warranty Necteck provides 12-month free warranty with high quality after-sales service

$35.99 on Amazon.com

MacBook Pro 15 inch Case 2018 2017 2016 Release A1990 A1707, Kuzy Plastic Hard Shell Cover for Newest MacBook Pro 15 case with Touch Bar Soft Touch - Black

Sunday, November 13, 2016

by Kuzy
You will be delighted with KUZY MacBook Pro 15 inch Case Product. You will love how our MacBook Pro 15 inch Case Rubberized finish feels when you're holding your MacBook. It's smooth but still provides a good grip on the MacBook for your peace of mind. With each MacBook Pro case you're getting more than a colorful accent - you're getting complete protection that won't get in the way of what you need to do. Maintain access to every major feature of a MacBook Pro, including vents that prevent overheating DESIGNED ONLY for Newest MacBook Pro 15 inch Case - Models: A1990 & A1707 - Released in 2018 & 2017 & 2016 Case Specifications — Designed for Newest MacBook Pro 15-inch with Touch Bar and Touch ID and 4 Thunderbolt 3 ports — No cut out design, Apple Logo Shine through the case — Material: Polycarbonate Hard Plastic Case Case Features — Case give your MacBook Pro a smooth, semi-translucent frosted finish that easily slips in and out your bag while retaining a grippy edge for your peace of mind. — Hard Plastic Case with Rubber paint over Top and Bottom Covers for Matte Silky-smooth soft-touch — Allows you access to all your important plugs while highlighting the unique look of your MacBook Pro 15-inch with Retina Display — Smooth yet grippy rubberized exterior texture to Protect your MacBook from scrapes and scratches — Case Design lets you Open/Close your MacBook all the way and Access to all Ports. Compatible ONLY with: MacBook Pro 15-inch with Touch Bar and Touch ID Models: A1990 & A1707 Release July 2018 MR932LL/A, MR942LL/A Release June 2017 MPTR2LL/A , MPTU2LL/A MPTT2LL/A , MPTV2LL/A Release 2016 MLH32LL/A , MLW72LL/A MLH42LL/A , MLW82LL/A Case NOT Compatible — MacBook Pro 15.4" Model A1398 & A1286 Older Version — MacBook White 15-inch

$19.99 on Amazon.com

Tech WTF is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.