MEIZU M3 NOTE: USER REVIEW

by Zilvinas Stan

Sunday, February 5, 2017

INTRODUCTION

Being a regular smartphone user and wanting to switch to some better one than LG, I started looking up smartphones. To be exact, I was not looking for any trending ones like Samsung Galaxies, iPhones or any other expensive mobiles. I was looking for a low-price smartphone with a wide inched screen, better memory, smoother performance and cameras with more megapixels (both back and front). So, my eye stopped on a Japanese-sounding name Meizu. For me, admirer of Japanese culture, it was a great trigger to start wondering about the phone in general. The fact that Meizu is actually manufactured in China did not lower my interest. I chose the Meizu M3 Note, which can be found in GeekBuying for around $130 or near 170€ in Lithuanian shops. So, now I used the smartphone for a few months. What have I perceived and is it worth choosing? L

BATTERY LIFE & CHARGING

To start with, looking at the battery, Meizu suggests 4100 mAh battery. This is super comfortable. It‘s one of the best smarthphones in 2016 by it‘s battery capacity. It helps when having longer outdoor time, which I personally find highly useful. Plus, battery should stay healthy in a long run, until a decision to upgrade again (cause it‘s non-removable). As said by manufacturer itself, M3 Note can last a couple days while using normally (about Meizu M3 Note in their official website). Depending on programs you use and other different parameters like screen-on time, you can actually reach two days. What holds from saying: „wow, such a great battery for such an affordable price“, is charging time. You would get used to charging overnight. But so far I can say: „wow, such a great battery for such an affordable price“. I mean, many of us still charge our phones overnig ht. So, that‘s not a big deal.

meizu battery

PERFORMANCE & DESIGN

A man sees a lady and it either brings spark to him or not. The same is with mobile phones. You have to like the looks of it first. In my case, I greatly adore the 5.5 inch screen and a resolution of 1080×1920 pixels. I love the design of the phone too. Those round edges look very smooth. Also, soft metal adds up comfort. Meizu M3 Note is a bit heavy with 163g, but that‘s ok for me. What one should like, is the fingerprint scanner located on the home button. It speeds up the „unlocking struggles“. The design is absolutely fine to me. For performance, I would spotlight the decision – the main purpose of the phone. I wouldn‘t promote this device as a gamer‘s phone. Other than that, everything is smooth and working, thanks to MediaTek Helio P10 GHz octa-core processor.

meizu m3 note

STRENGTH & DURABILITY

I used this phone for a few months now and I can say that it still seems as good as when it was brand new. There are a few scratches but they are not clearly noticeable. If it is used as a valuable device, in a way that the smarthphone is taken normal care of, there will not be any physical problems. For software, it still runs as smooth as I would want to. For battery, it remains top-notch that can stay up almost the same time as a few months ago. So, given the price it was bought, the phone has longevity.

BEST FEATURES

It‘s time to pitch the best Meizu M3 Note features. I mentioned, that I was searching for a  smartphone with a wide screen, better memory, smoother performance and greater cameras. Did I get them? Yes, I did. Though, I need to note that my previous phone (LG Optimus L7 II) was just too sloppy to keep up with what technology has to offer now. But with Meizu M3 Note, I got:

  • 5 inch screen, which is exactly what I wanted.
  • 2GB of RAM and 16GB of internal storage. It‘s more than twice better in comparison to the previous phone of mine, but also it should be enough for an average user. If not, then there‘s a version of Meizu M3 Note with 3GB of RAM and 32GB of storage.
  • already mentioned 1GHz octa-core processor
  • 13MP rear and 5MP front camera. Now here numbers are good, but the camera itself did not quite meet the expectations.

So, it‘s pretty safe to say that this Meizu is an upgrade for me. This smart device has pretty useful aspects. For example, with dual-SIM you can have either two SIMS or a SIM and a microSD card. Then, it‘s not a big deal, but I adore the function of switching apps. You can swipe up from the side of the home button and switch apps really smoothly. The animation looks fine too. Also, I‘ll repeat, that I love the fingerprint scanner being in front.

WORST FEATURES

It looks nice, looking at those features. But is M3 Note as good, as a technologically advanced person would want? We have to look at the worst features to find out.

To begin with, I mentioned before, that this Meizu has a 13MP camera. It should surely be better than 8MP, or 10MP camera, but unfortunately numbers don‘t tell about the usage itself. While I won‘t deny, that the quality is appropriate when there‘s enough of light, but it looks pretty different where it appears to be darker. In the result, we get a blurry, noisy image. It is even more noticeable in night mode. Moreover, the screen of the device is not as bright and vivid as one would want to. I personally never use the full brightness, but that may be a problem of some volume for others. Other shortage  to note is that Google Play is not preinstalled. There are enough installed useful  programs though. Also, Meizu M3 Note has no multi languages. It certainly reduces the market size. Last but not the least, it might bother that, even though it‘s a 2016 phone, it‘s OS Flyme is based on Android 5.1 Lollipop. But even though the OS is not the most recent, it works pretty well.

OVERALL REVIEW

Meizu M3 Note is a very good choice from an ambitious Chinese company Meizu. Being under $200 price and having a beast battery it already sounds worth paying the money. Plus, for it to have a comfortable number of RAM and storage, smooth performance and a wide screen, which were my sought benefits, makes the phone a competitor for more expensive phones. Though, camera of this Meizu does not meet my expectations. It is not for everyday photography, as it lacks quality. Also it‘s not the phone to use for gaming, cause lack of better performance in 3D games. M3 Note looks stylish with his design and is cozy to touch. So, it is as comfortable from outside as from inside.

Having one of the greatest batteries and other mentioned virtues, Meizu M3 Note exceeds my hopes and I would recommend it for others. And it gets a warm chair in the rivalry of such price phones. My tip is to explore, what is there in the market, so that you can get a quite decent smartphone with the same or nearly the same advantages, but for a much better price.  I just suggest to make sure to check compatibility and available languages.

MY OVERALL RATING IS 8.5/10

 

by Zilvinas Stan

by Zilvinas Stan

Sunday, February 5, 2017

My name is Zilvinas Stan. I am from the green lands of Lithuania. I am a beginner writer, but I am eager to show everyone that I have "the catch", that has to be there to keep readers interested from start to ending. Here is what I want to tell you: "Words are so magical, that they can build anything and everything. They create ideas, they destroy ideas, they bond people, they respond to people. Words are here when one needs to remember. Words are here from december to november." Hope we will meet more through my words, phrases, sentences and articles. Oh, and by the way, have a nice day!

Read more at stanonstage.com

Buy MEIZU M3 NOTE & Accessories

Alexander Meizu M3 Note/Meilan Note 3 (International Version) / L681H LCD Screen and Digitizer Full Assembly(Black) Xone (Color : Black)

Sunday, February 5, 2017

by Alexander
About the product1. Replacement LCD display + touch screen digitizer assembly for Meizu M3 Note / Meilan Note 3 (International Version) / L681H.2. Replace the old, broken, cracked, damaged one.3. Make your device look more refreshing than ever.4. Completely fit and work. 5. Each item has been checked and in good condition before shipping.6. Professional installation is highly recommended. We will not be responsible once the screen is installed.Before Installation NotesTips 1: Test before installation When testing, do not remove any protective film or tags. Please pay attention to the problem of static electricity. Before attempting any repair, be sure to ground yourself is an ESD (electro static discharge) strap. This will prevent static electricity from damaging the electronic components within the phone. Ensure you wear eye protection and use caution not to cut your finger with the glass splinters. Tips 2: Simulates testing Screen replacement is very fragile product. We strongly suggest test before installation. Please simulates testing, which means mobile phone apart, (motherboard + LCD or screen) connected audio cable and new replacement, power on, test finished. If test OK, please install it. If it can not show, please contact us at the very first time. And please do not force it to be installed in mobile phone. We will not be responsible once the screen is installed. Tips 3: Do not over-bend cable Please make sure LCD cable Do not over-bend. Over 90 degrees bent will cause black display.

$32.96 on Amazon.com

[2-Pack] Meizu M3 Note Screen Protector, Nacodex [Tempered Glass] 0.26mm Ballistic 9H Glass ([2-Pack] for Meizu M3 Note)

Sunday, February 5, 2017

by nacodex
Nacodex: [2 Pack] HD Premium Tempered Glass Screen Protector For Meizu M3 Note This Glass Screen Protector Fit For : Meizu M3 Note 9H hardness for maximum protection 9H harness tempered glass, which is 3 times stronger than normal 3H hardness, can effectively protect your device from unwanted scratches and friction from keys, knife and other harmful factors. High transparency ensures excellent visual effect 99% light transmittance ensures maximum resolution for super amoled displays, you can barely feel the existence of glass protector when reading or watching. Sensitive-touch Highly responsive and sensitive touching performance makes your Galaxy device function smoothly and work fast. Waterproof and oil-proof 96% High-definition clear hydrophobic and oleophobic screen coating can prevent the water & amp; oil from scatter and the water & oil can be wiped away very easily. Easy installation The glass screen protector can be easily installed without bubble and and removed without residue. REMINDER: Some of the glass films you receive may differ from the photos in terms of opening position. It is guaranteed though this would never affect usage or screen protection. Picky buyers PLEASE purchase with caution, so as to avoid disputes. Note: Due to the curved design of the some cellphone (For iPhone 6/Plus,Samsung Note 4/5.S6 Edge etc ), the screen protectors are slightly smaller than the actual screen size. We made it smaller to cover the flat portion of the screen and leave the curve edge. Please align well the screen protector to cover the flat portion of the screen. Nacodex, Better than you want!

$6.50 on Amazon.com

for Meizu M3 Note HD Ballistic Tempered Glass Screen Protector (for Meizu M3 Note)

Sunday, February 5, 2017

by nacodex
REMINDER: Some of the glass films you receive may differ from the photos in terms of opening position. It is guaranteed though this would never affect usage or screen protection. Picky buyers PLEASE purchase with caution, so as to avoid disputes. Note: Due to the curved design of the some cellphone (For iPhone 6/Plus,Samsung Note 4/5.S6 Edge etc ), the screen protectors are slightly smaller than the actual screen size. We made it smaller to cover the flat portion of the screen and leave the curve edge. Please align well the screen protector to cover the flat portion of the screen. 【1 Pack】Compatible With Meizu M3 Note Features: 1.Retina and HD Super AMOLED compatible high quality screen protector for your device's screen 2.The surface of the tempered glass has a hardness of 9H and 0.26mm thick, three times stronger than a regular screen protector film. 3.Ultra clear for 98% transparency: Light Penetration Ratio 93.7% as compared with usual protective film 90% 4.The Premium Tempered Glass has an oleophobiccoating that prevents fingerprints and other contaminants. 5.UV Protection: Reduces eye strain caused by the LCD screen. 6.Made From Optical Grade Tempered Glass With Attaches Smoothly and Self-Adhering Surface For Easy Installation. 7.The tempered glass screen protector has a strong adhesive that makes installation easy and attaches the film firmly so as to not affect the touch screen's sensitivity. 8.Real Touch Sensitivity for a natural feel that provides flawless touch screen accuracy. 9.If broken, the Tempered Glass breaks into small pieces that are not sharp, making it safer than other glass products. Package Includes: 1x 9H Tempered Glass 1x Clearing Cloth 1x Alochol Swab 1x Dust-absorber *Cellphone is not included.

$5.57 on Amazon.com

Meizu m3 note Case, Dual Layer Protection Shockproof Hybrid Rugged Case Hard Shell Cover with Kickstand for 5.5'' Meizu m3 note, Meizu Blue Charm Note 3 [Not for 5.0'' Meizu m3 or Meizu m3s] (Gray)

Sunday, February 5, 2017

by SCIMIN
Two layered case protects from bumps, scrapes and drops This tough protective case has been designed for those with an active lifestyle. It provides great shock and impact absorption thanks to its lightweight TPU polymer with a precisely positioned hard skeleton for added protection. The design of the exoskeleton extends out to protect vulnerable parts of your Meizu m3 note [Meizu Blue Charm Note 3] such as the corners and sides. Features an impact-resistant polycarbonate exoskeleton This protective case features a tough exoskeleton, which covers the back and vulnerable corners of your phone from damage. They are made from an impact-resistant, polycarbonate plastic shell protecting your Meizu m3 note [Meizu Blue Charm Note 3] from accidental damage - keeping it looking as good as it did when you bought it. Textured grid finishing improves grip and comfort Complementing the protective properties of the polycarbonate shell is a textured finish, which not only helps to improve grip when holding the handset, but also makes it more comfortable in the palm of your hand. Portable flip-out stand for landscape viewing The hard attachable exoskeleton doesn't just add strength to the TPU shell, but features an ergonomically designed stand that pulls out to give the perfect viewing angle for watching media, web browsing and reading. The stand then simply clicks back into place and lays completely flat so there is zero extra bulk added to the case. Cut-outs for the main ports and features of the phone This tough protective case has been designed specifically for the Meizu m3 note[Meizu Blue Charm Note 3] and has cut-outs for the main ports and features of the smartphone such as the camera with flash. The power and volume buttons are covered, but remain functional while encased to give unbeatable protection.

$7.99 on Amazon.com

QI Receiver Type B for BLU Vivo- Kyocera DuraForce- Meizu M5-M3- HTC Desire 10 Pro - HTC One - X- X9- E9-QI Receiver Micro USB-QI Wireless Adapter B -QI Adapter HTC

Sunday, February 5, 2017

by Y Tech
QI WIRELESS RECEIVER TYPE B for ✔ BLU VIVO ONE - BLU VIVO X - BLU VIVO XL3 ✔ HTC ONE E9 - HTC ONE E9 plus - HTC ONE X - HTC ONE X9 - HTC Desire 10 PRO Lifestyle ✔ KYOCERA BRIGADIER - KYOCERA DURAFORCE ✔ OnePlus - OnePlus x ✔ Meizu M3 NOTE - Meizu M5 - Meizu M5 NOTE - Meizu M5C - Meizu M5S - Meizu U20 Specifications: Fast qi wireless receiver - 1000 mAh Product standard: Qi standard Package includes: 1 * Qi Wireless Receiver Type B Most of wireless chargers have recommendation to be used with 2A power adapters. If you use power adapter with less parameters, Charging process may be not stable and phone charge will be slower. Our wireless chargers have been tested with Android wireless receiver, and they can successfully charge your mobile from a laptop USB port. IT WILL WORK WITH CASE? The receiver will work well with most cases (excluding the metal phone cases, otterbox, cases with dense and thick material). Wireless charging uses magnetic induction, and magnetic waves can not penetrate metal or very dense surface. HOW IT WILL BE USED 1: Insert the Qi wireless receiver patch's connector into Mobile phone charging port; 2: Attach the Qi wireless receiver patch onto the Mobile phone back cover; 3: Optional - install your Mobile phone with non-metal phone case; 4: Place the Mobile Phone onto the Qi standard wireless charging pad / wireless charging dock / wireless external power bank / portable wireless charger. Any problem please contact us through Amazon Email System and we will do our best to serve you.

$50.00 on Amazon.com

Tech WTF is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.