Samsung Galaxy S7 User Review 2017

by McFiddlestein

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

 

INTRO

Samsung’s flagship of 2016, Samsung Galaxy S7, was released on 12th of March 2016. The things that sold this one to me are: 12MP, 1.7 aperture camera (that gave me to finally take photos in 4K!) and super-bright and high-contrast Super AMOLED display. It was a hard choice between Galaxy S7 and Galaxy S7 Edge, but I went with no-edge version, as, at that point, I firmly believed that “over-the-edge” display was just a gimmick. As we have seen with Galaxy S8 and Note 8, it is clearly not and gives the display the most awesome look! If I were to choose between these two phones today – I would have went with Edge model for sure!

I have bought mine Samsung Galaxy S7 in August of 2016 and now I have decided to ask myself a question: is it still relevant a year and a half after the release date? Let’s get right into it!

Samsung s7

CHARGING AND BATTERY LIFE

Samsung Galaxy S7 comes packed with Li-Ion 3000 mAh battery that can hold a punch! I’m a pretty heavy user, as I try to use my phone to the max. On heavy days, I may have to charge my phone after 4-6 hours of intense workload, but when I go easy on it – battery can hold up to 12 hours without the need to re-charge. So if you are a mild user – you will be good getting through the day without the need to get more juice in that battery.

As Galaxy S6 did, S7 also comes with the ability to wirelessly charge the phone, which is really handy, but the best part about this phone’s battery is – Quick Charge 2.0! Low on power? Hook it up to a wall with a Quick Charge adapter (comes in a box) and in 30 minutes your phone will be at 60%! This feature saved my day too many times to overlook it.

 

PERFORMANCE & FEATURES 

SPECS

I will not go over any benchmarks, as they are all over the internet, instead I will just convey my personal experience to you.

I don’t use Samsung’s native launcher TouchWiz anymore, as it was not able to provide the level of customization that I need. Instead, I have decided to go with Apex Launcher and I don’t regret it, but because of it your experience may be a bit different. While I was using TouchWiz, I had not experienced any lagging, stutters or freezes, but still I have gone past it.

I don’t game on my phone, so if you wanted to see here if Galaxy S7 hardware is still good in games at this point – go to some other review or PM me and I’ll give you feedback on games that you’re interested in. Outside of games – I have never experienced any freezes or stutters; this phone still handles everything that I throw at it beautifully.

Multi-tasking on the screen of this size is good, but Note series are much better in that because of the extra real estate. Launching two apps side-by-side is the feature I was waiting for a long time to be in a phone and I have never had any problems with it, it was a silky-smooth experience.

Fingerprint scanner still works perfectly, despite the fact that the button is a bit loose.

Double-press on the home button turns on the camera and turns it on quick! Also, it can be reassigned to turn on some other apps and even a triple-press could be set up, but it will cost you the speed of turning a camera on double-press.

 

CAMERA

Camera was the cornerstone of my decision to by this phone. 12 MP, 1.7 aperture rear camera with optical stabilization, ability to take photos in 4K! [email protected], [email protected], [email protected] video recording! You couldn’t ask for more at that point and this camera still holds up very well. Pretty wide aperture gives the ability to take quite good pictures in low light scenarios and in the daylight photos look just marvelous! And double-press on the home button that turns on the camera just makes it perfect for quick capture!

The app is very solid. Auto settings do well, but if you want to capture the true magic of the moment – use Pro settings. It gives you a lot to play with, so it is possible to take a photo exactly how you want it.

Other camera settings are also quite fun: HDR, Panorama, Slow Motion, Surround Shot, Dual Camera and filter/effect layers in just a swipe away.

 

STRENGTH AND DURABILITY

Samsung claims that Galaxy S7 has a dust/water resistance of IP68. I had not had any problems with that, it is truly water-resistant. Using the phone in the shower – no problem, dropped it in a pool – don’t leave it in for too long and it will be fine.

Glass that is on the front and the back panel is Corning Gorilla Glass 4. It can take a beating, but I have managed to crack both of my panels in one day only a month after I bought the phone. It had dropped from 40-50cm (15.8-19.7inch) – from the ground onto solid concrete face down. Screen did not survive that punishment. The back panel was broken on the same day, but this time it was dropped on the top-right corner, only the surface stayed the same – concrete. To my surprise, the front panel did not crack any further because of the second drop. I had changed both of the panels and never had to do it again.

My panels are a 1-year old at this point. Besides the fingerprints, which are attracted to glass panels like bees to honey, my front panel has only 1 tiny scratch on it. Back panel suffered more: there are 3 visible scratches, one of which is pretty deep. If you want to get a skin – do it! I have never used one and I’m against cases, as they ruin the looks, but I should have gotten one (dbrand skins are just awesome).

The speaker grate was of a silver color when I bought it, now – it is black, as the coating came off with time.

Another small thing is – home button got a bit loose after some submersions in water.

Samsung s7

THE GOOD

  • Camera
  • Loud speakers
  • Slick design
  • Hardware still holds up to the challenge
  • Display
  • Fingerprint scanner on the front
  • Multi-tasking
  • $230+ used on Amazon; $300+ refurbished on Amazon

 

THE BAD

  • Lack of customization in TouchWiz
  • Slippery back panel
  • Coating on a speaker grate
  • $489 new on Amazon

 

CONCLUSION

RATING: 8/10

All in all, Samsung Galaxy S7 is still holds up pretty good. If I would get one today I would get an Edge version, but it is more expensive (slap another $100 on top). If the over-the-edge screen is not your thing – the base version is just as awesome. Get a skin to protect the back and you have a still very good phone that won’t let you down!

LINKS:

https://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_s7-7821.php

www.samsung.com/global/galaxy/galaxy-s7/

by McFiddlestein

by McFiddlestein

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Young developer with a passion for tech and all related to that. I like to fiddle around with all sorts of hardware, software code and express my opinion on everything I get my hands on. The passion for tech is what drives me forward. Moto: People must share their experience, so everyone can learn from it! Get yours out there too!

Read more at mcfiddlestein.com

Buy Samsung Galaxy S7 User Review 2017 & Accessories

SanDisk Ultra 128GB microSDXC UHS-I card with Adapter -  100MB/s U1 A1 - SDSQUAR-128G-GN6MA

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

by SanDisk
SanDisk Ultra microSDXC and microSDHC cards are fast for better pictures, app performance, and Full HD video.(1) Ideal for Android smartphones and tablets, these A1-rated cards load apps faster for a better smartphone experience.(3) Available in capacities up to 400GB, you have the capacity to take more pictures and Full HD video and capture life at its fullest. Built to perform in harsh conditions, SanDisk Ultra microSD cards are waterproof, temperature proof, shockproof, and X-ray proof.(2) The microSD card is also rated Class 10 for Full HD video recording performance and a 10-year limited warranty. | *1GB=1,000,000,000 bytes. Actual user storage less. | **(For 64GB-256GB): Up to 100MB/s read speed; write speed lower. (For 16GB-32GB): Up to 98MB/s read speed; write speed lower. Based on internal testing; performance may be lower depending on host device, interface, usage conditions and other factors. 1MB=1,000,000 bytes. | (1) Full HD (1920x1080) video support may vary based upon host device, file attributes, and other factors. | (2) Card only | (3) Results may vary based on host device, app type and other factors. | (5) Download and installation required. | (6) Based on 4.1GB transfer of photos (avg. file 3.5MB) with USB 3.0 reader. Results may vary based on host device, file attributes and other factors. | (7) Approximations; results and Full HD (1920x1080) video support may vary based on host device, file attributes and other factors.

$21.50 on Amazon.com

Anker PowerCore 26800 Portable Charger, 26800mAh External Battery with Dual Input Port and Double-Speed Recharging, 3 USB Ports for iPhone, iPad, Samsung Galaxy, Android and Other Smart Devices

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

by Anker
PowerCore 26800 The Fast-Recharging Colossal-Capacity Portable Charger From ANKER, America's Leading USB Charging Brand Faster and safer charging with our advanced technology 30 million+ happy users and counting Set Yourself Free Get freedom from your wall for over a week. PowerCore 26800 provides almost 10 iPhone 8 charges, 6.5 Samsung Galaxy S8 charges or multiple charges for almost all tablets and other USB devices. Charge-Faster Technology Anker's exclusive PowerIQ and VoltageBoost technologies combine to ensure the fastest possible charge for all non-Quick Charge devices-includes all Apple phones & tablets and most Android devices. Double-Speed Recharge With dual input ports and a max input of 4A, a full charge takes just over 6 hours-twice as fast as a standard portable charger. Recharge for a night; charge for an entire week. Superior Safety Anker's MultiProtect technology combines surge protection, short circuit prevention and premium LG battery cells to keep you and your devices safe. Notes Use the included Micro-USB cable, your original cable or a third-party certified one (such as MFi); AC adapter not included. Please use your original Apple charging cable (not included) to charge Apple products. Compatible with most USB-charged devices, including iPhone 8 / X / XS / XS Max / XR (Lightning cable required), Android smartphones and tablets (including the Nexus 7), USB-C MacBooks / iPad (USB A to C cable required). Not compatible with the iPod nano, iPod Classic; Not for devices with an input below 50mA (e.g. some Bluetooth headsets and GPS devices). What's In the Box PowerCore 26800 Portable Charger 2X Micro USB Cable Travel Pouch Welcome Guide Input 5V ⎓ 4A (5V ⎓ 2A Max Per Port) Output 5V ⎓ 6A (5V ⎓ 3A Max Per Port)

$55.99 on Amazon.com

Anker PowerCore 13000, Compact 13000mAh 2-Port Ultra-Portable Phone Charger Power Bank with PowerIQ and VoltageBoost Technology for iPhone, iPad, Samsung Galaxy (White)

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

by Anker
PowerCore 13000 The Compact Super-High-Capacity Portable Charger From ANKER, America's Leading USB Charging Brand Faster and safer charging with our advanced technology 30 million+ happy users and counting Super-High Capacity Enough power to keep you going for days. Charge an iPhone 8 almost 5 times, an iPhone X or Samsung Galaxy S8 3 times or an iPad Air 2 once. High-Speed Charging PowerIQ ensures intelligent high-speed charging for all your devices and VoltageBoost prevents cable resistance from slowing your charging speeds. MultiProtect Safety System Surge protection, short circuit prevention, and more advanced safety features keep you and your devices safe. Matte Finish Enhances grip and prevents smudges and fingerprints. Worry-Free Warranty At Anker, we believe in our products. That's why we back them all with an 18-month warranty and provide friendly, easy-to-reach support. For Optimal Use: Use the included cable, your original cable or a third-party certified one (such as MFi). It is advised not to use in confined, poorly ventilated spaces (e.g. pockets). Compatible with 12'' 2015 MacBook (USB-C cable required), iPhone XS / XS Max / XR, Android smartphones and tables (including the Nexus 7), and other USB-charged devices except for the iPod nano, iPod Classic, HP TouchPad, Dell Venue 11 Pro, Asus tablets, and some GPS and Bluetooth devices. Notes: Please use the original Apple charging cable (not included) to charge Apple products. AC adapter not included. What's in the Box 1 Anker PowerCore 13000 portable charger 1 Micro USB cable 1 travel pouch 1 welcome guide

$39.99 on Amazon.com

Mpow Car Phone Mount,Washable Strong Sticky Gel Pad with One-Touch Design Dashboard Car Phone Holder for iPhone X/8/8Plus/7/7Plus/6s/6Plus/5S, Galaxy S5/S6/S7/S8, Google Nexus, LG, Huawei and More

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

by Mpow
Description The dashboard car mount holder allows you to drive effortlessly by easy operation. Secure Mounting Strong sticky suction with secure locking mechanism ensures snug fit for most surfaces. Easy to restore the sticky gel by rinsing with water and air dry. Optimal Viewing The car mount holder can be adjusted to the perfect viewing angle with its 360° flexible ball head. Telescopic arm offers great extension for ideal height and accessibility. Sturdy Structure The stability of the mount on the dashboard relies both on the super suction cup with sticky gel pad and the specially designed structure to reduce the whole force moment. Simple Installation and Removal Adjust the desired length and angle of the telescopic arm. Pull down the locking lever to lock the mount in place. Pull up locking lever and pull the tab of the suction cup for easy removal. Wide Compatibility 4.6-6.6in (11.8-16.8cm) arm width range to adjust. Compatible with most cell phones up to 6 inches including iPhone, Sony, Google, LG, HTC, Blackberry, etc. Specifications: Package: 5.9×3.2×3.5 inch (150×80×90mm) Net Weight: 7.8oz (220g) Package Included: Universal Holder×1 Dashboard Mount×1 User Manual×1 Warranty: Every Mpow Product includes a 45 days money back & 18-month worry-free! Note: 1.You would better not to put it on the car windshield. 2.Using some water in your suction cup bottom,you will get a better experience.3.As summer approaches and days are getting hotter, please avoid direct exposure to the sun as this may affect the function of your car mount

$8.59 on Amazon.com

Tech WTF is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.